Platform fees

Compare tutoring fees and pay: Preply, Cambly and more

Compare commission on lessons with platforms that offer fixed tutor pay. Check trial lesson payments and tutor access alongside the main lesson rate.

9 platforms

US / USD unless labelled

Last checked

Sources and dates

Superprof

Checked

Pay model
Tutor sets lesson price Source
Lesson fee
10% online; Premium waives fee Source
Trial lesson pay
First lesson free until Super Tutor Source
Required tutor cost
Free listing; paid Premium optional Source
Tutor access
Tutor profile; PayPal for online payouts Source

Preply

Checked

Pay model
Tutor sets hourly rate Source
Lesson fee
Commission by total completed teaching hours, including trials: 0 to 20 hours 33%; 21 to 50 hours 28%; 51 to 200 hours 25%; 201 to 400 hours 22%; more than 400 hours 18%. Each first trial with a new student has 100% commission. Source
Trial lesson pay
100% commission on first trial Source
Required tutor cost
Free signup and tutor profile Source
Tutor access
Profile review; 18+ required Source

italki

Checked

Pay model
Current official Google Play listing says teachers set their own lesson prices. Source
Lesson fee
The official 2021 teacher handbook says italki took 15% of completed lessons, excluding trials. Current rate is unconfirmed; the 2025 commission update and Help Center page were inaccessible. Source
Trial lesson pay
The 2021 handbook says trials are 30 minutes and paid; completed-lesson commission did not apply. Current trial terms are unconfirmed. Source
Required tutor cost
No current teacher signup fee is listed in the accessible official public sources. Source
Tutor access
The 2021 handbook says teacher profiles need approval after setup. Current openings and approval requirements vary by language and are not confirmed. Source

Cambly

Checked

Pay model
Fixed per-minute tutor pay Source
Lesson fee
$0.17/min adult; $0.20/min Kids Source
Trial lesson pay
Trial pay not published separately Source
Required tutor cost
Tutor signup fee not stated Source
Tutor access
New tutor intake limited; no degree needed Source

AmazingTalker

Checked

Pay model
Tutor sets lesson prices Source
Lesson fee
Official regional teacher page lists commission from 0% to 30%, declining as monthly lesson income rises; it does not give a readable exact tier table. Source
Trial lesson pay
Tutor sets trial lesson price Source
Required tutor cost
Profile listed at no cost Source
Tutor access
Tutor application reviewed Source

Verbling

Checked

Pay model
Tutor sets lesson price Source
Lesson fee
15% commission Source
Trial lesson pay
Optional 30-minute trial Source
Required tutor cost
Signup fee not stated Source
Tutor access
Teacher application required Source

Wyzant

Checked

Pay model
Tutor sets hourly rate Source
Lesson fee
25%; 0% for referred students Source
Trial lesson pay
Free first meeting at tutor choice Source
Required tutor cost
Free tutor profile Source
Tutor access
US work-eligible, 18+; SSN required before cumulative payments exceed $50. EIN is for payment reporting only; tutor and subject approval apply. Source

Lessonface

Checked

Pay model
Teachers set private-lesson rates. Source
Lesson fee
5–30% by format; current fee table lists a 10% referred group fee, while teacher terms say 20%. Source
Trial lesson pay
Teachers may offer one free 15- or 30-minute trial. Source
Required tutor cost
No signup fee listed. US bank payout is free; FAQ says $3/check, older payment page says $1 US/$2 international; PayPal fees vary. Source
Tutor access
Teacher approval; US background badge is optional Source

Lessonspace

Checked

Pay model
Classroom software; not a tutor marketplace. Source
Lesson fee
No marketplace lesson fee; this is a subscription service. Source
Trial lesson pay
No lesson-based tutor trial pay. Source
Required tutor cost
14-day free trial. Basic $9/mo for 10h + $1.95/h; Starter $29/30h + $1.80/h; Pro $99/100h + $1.20/h; Advanced $199/200h + $0.95/h; Enterprise custom. Sessions over 4 participants add $0.25 per participant-hour. Recordings are free for 90 days, then $0.20/GB/month. Cobrowser includes 600 participant-minutes/month, then $0.004/min; transcription is $0.001/participant-minute. Source
Tutor access
Tutor classroom account; no teacher marketplace listing. Source

Preply

Online tutoring

33%First 20 hours
18%After 400 hours

You keep 67% before other fees

Start
Free
Trial lessons
100% to Preply
Access
Review, 18+
+ 4 more rates
All Preply rates
RateWhen
By hours taught
33%First 20 hours
28%21 to 50 hours
25%51 to 200 hours
22%201 to 400 hours
18%After 400 hours
Trial lessons
100%First trial with a new student

Preply keeps the full price of each new student’s trial lesson.

Cambly

English tutoring, fixed pay

$10.20Your pay an hour, adults
$12Your pay an hour, Kids
Adults
17¢ a minute
Kids
20¢ a minute
Degree
Not needed
All rates and sources
All Cambly rates
RateWhen
Cambly pays you
$10.20Your pay an hour, adults
$12Your pay an hour, Kids

Cambly pays a fixed rate per minute. It does not publish how much it keeps.

Checked

Sources

Verbling

Language tutoring

15%Lessons

You keep 85% before other fees

Pricing
You set it
Trials
Optional, 30 min
Access
Application
All rates and sources
All Verbling rates
RateWhen
Verbling
15%Lessons

Verbling takes 15% of each lesson.

Lessonspace

Online classroom software

No marketplace cutClassroom subscription
Basic plan
$9 a month
Extra hours
$1.95 each
Trial
14 days
Sources

Lessonspace is classroom software for your own students, not a marketplace.

Checked

Sources