Platform fees

Compare stock photo earnings: Adobe Stock, Shutterstock and more

Compare stock licensing revenue with tools for selling photos directly. Check creator shares, seller costs, exclusivity and payout terms for each model.

15 platforms

US / USD unless labelled

Last checked

Sources and dates

Adobe Stock

Checked

Earnings model
Standard stock licenses cover photos, vectors, illustrations and video under subscriptions, credit packs and on-demand plans. Source
Creator share
Standard rates are 33% for photos, vectors and illustrations and 35% for video, applied to net licensed price. Some non-standard plans use flat rates. Large subscriptions guarantee $0.33–$0.38 per standard still asset by contributor lifetime-license tier. Source
Required seller cost
Adobe describes contributor setup as having no upfront or subscription cost. Source
Exclusivity
Standard uploads and accepted Free Collection works are non-exclusive. Supplemental Work may be exclusive only when the request expressly requires it. Source
Payout
Payout requests require at least $25 and 45 days since the first sale. PayPal, Payoneer and Skrill are offered, subject to regional eligibility and tax requirements. Source

Shutterstock

Checked

Earnings model
Contributors earn a percentage of the price Shutterstock receives for each licensed download. Source
Creator share
Images and videos each have six separate levels from 15% to 40%; levels advance independently by download count and reset to level 1 every January 1. Source
Required seller cost
Opening a contributor account and submitting work are free. Source
Exclusivity
Contributor agreement is non-exclusive; creators keep copyright and may license the same work elsewhere. Source
Payout
Automatic monthly payouts use the account setting, but the payout help does not state its floor. Terms v9 sets $35 for electronic or $500 for checks; some countries also wait 90 days from first approval. The official pages conflict on the minimum. Source

iStock and Getty Images

Checked

Earnings model
Creators earn royalties when customers license accepted photos, videos or illustrations. Source
Creator share
The public contributor page states 15–45% per licensed file, depending on the contributor agreement. Source
Required seller cost
The public application page requires six samples but does not state a contributor account or submission fee. Source
Exclusivity
Applicants start with a non-exclusive agreement; they may later apply for exclusive status by content type for higher rates. Source
Payout
Royalties are paid in USD through PayPal or Payoneer. The public contributor page does not state a minimum balance or payment schedule. Source

Alamy

Checked

Earnings model
Stock licensing for photos, vectors, video and 360° images. Source
Creator share
2026 tiers: Bronze 15% below $250; Silver 20% at $250–$3,000; Gold 40% above $3,000 to $25,000; Platinum 50% for eligible Alamy-exclusive content at $25,000+. Tiers are based on annual licence fees net of refunds. Eligible students receive 100% of direct sales for two years. Source
Required seller cost
Alamy offers a free contributor account. Source
Exclusivity
Standard supply is non-exclusive. Contributors may mark eligible content exclusive; exclusivity only affects the Platinum commission tier. Source
Payout
Monthly payment once cleared funds exceed $75; USD, GBP or EUR by PayPal or bank transfer. Processing starts the first working day and may take up to nine working days. Source

Dreamstime

Checked

Earnings model
Stock photos, illustrations, video and audio are licensed through per-sale and subscription plans. Source
Creator share
Non-exclusive files earn 25–50% of net sales; exclusive files 27.5–55%; exclusive contributors earn 60%. A $0.20 upload bonus applies to each of the first 100 accepted files; after that, through 10,000 files, it requires downloads per image above 0.1. Subscription royalties can vary by plan. Source
Required seller cost
Contributor registration and uploads are free. Source
Exclusivity
Optional exclusivity applies to individual files or to the contributor portfolio; full exclusivity earns 60% on represented-file sales. Source
Payout
Request payment at $100 or more via PayPal, Payoneer, Skrill or check. Source

Depositphotos

Checked

Earnings model
Contributor licensing covers photos, vectors, video and audio through packs, subscriptions and special revenue-share plans. Source
Creator share
Photo/vector packs pay 30%, 32%, 34%, 36% or 38% by level; subscriptions pay $0.25–$0.33 per file. Video packs/subscriptions pay 30–38%; audio packs pay 34–42%. Unlimited music subscriptions allocate 40% of net subscription revenue by download share. Discounts, tax and partner deals can change amounts. Source
Required seller cost
Contributor account registration is free; applicants pass a brief examination with sample files. Source
Exclusivity
Supply agreement grants Depositphotos a perpetual, worldwide, non-exclusive license. Source
Payout
Withdraw at $25 or more via PayPal, Payoneer or Skrill; an approved tax form is required. Source

123RF

Checked

Earnings model
Stock photos, vectors, illustrations, video and audio are licensed through credit and subscription downloads. Source
Creator share
Credit downloads pay 30%, 40%, 50%, 52%, 54%, 56%, 58% or 60% at levels 1–8, based on prior 12-month downloads. Subscription downloads pay $0.216, $0.288, $0.360, $0.374, $0.389, $0.403, $0.418 or $0.432 by level; earnings round to cents. Source
Required seller cost
The public contributor agreement does not state an account or upload fee; it permits deduction of payment processing or bank transaction charges when incurred. Source
Exclusivity
The contributor grants 123RF a worldwide, non-exclusive distribution and licensing right. Source
Payout
Automatic payment on or after the 15th after threshold: $50 via PayPal or Payoneer, $100 via Skrill. A tax form is required; processing or bank charges may be deducted. Source

Stocksy

Checked

Earnings model
Creators earn stock-license royalties; cooperative patronage returns may also be paid when the co-op has a surplus. Source
Creator share
Creators receive 50% for standard licenses and 75% for extended licenses and market freezes. Source
Required seller cost
Joining requires a one-time $1 USD cooperative share, deducted from the first sale. Source
Exclusivity
Submitted photos/videos and work from the same series are exclusive to Stocksy; members may still work with other agencies and sell personal portfolio, social and print/product uses. Source
Payout
Monthly payment on the first Canadian business day once balance reaches $100; Payoneer, PayPal or Wise bank deposit. Regional methods vary and wire transfers may incur an administration fee. Source

Picfair

Checked

Earnings model
Lite: 20-image private preview; public sales require Plus. Source
Creator share
Plus stores have no added sales commission; the photographer receives the exact price set for each image. Source
Required seller cost
Plus prices are localized across 13 currencies and may include live discounts; monthly and annual billing are offered. Source
Exclusivity
Picfair receives a non-exclusive image license; the photographer retains copyright. Source
Payout
Request a cash-out after a sale. PayPal, UK bank transfer, or Wise where PayPal is unavailable; average processing is 14 days, up to one month at peak volume. Source

PhotoShelter

Checked

Earnings model
Sell print products and image licenses directly through your PhotoShelter site. Source
Creator share
Print/product orders: 10% Basic, 9% Standard, or 8% Pro on subtotal excluding shipping/tax; processor fees separate. Image-license fee rate is not confirmed in the accessible schedule. Source
Required seller cost
A paid photographer plan is required. Current plan prices are shown during signup; no public photographer rate table was found. Source
Exclusivity
PhotoShelter receives a non-exclusive service license; its terms do not state a seller exclusivity requirement. Source
Payout
Customers pay the photographer through a connected PayPal, Stripe, or Authorize.net account. PhotoShelter bills transaction fees on the next monthly statement. Source

SmugMug

Checked

Earnings model
Portfolio and Pro plans support print and digital-download sales with SmugMug fulfillment. Source
Creator share
You keep 85% of your markup above SmugMug print or download base costs; it is not 85% of the full order. Source
Required seller cost
Portfolio, the first sales plan, is $282 per year ($23.50 per month billed annually). Source
Exclusivity
SmugMug facilitates seller-chosen licenses under a non-exclusive service license; no seller exclusivity program is stated in its terms. Source
Payout
Paid monthly after the 7th: automatic payout at $500 unpaid profit, or request at $5 US / $10 international. US payout is ACH; international is PayPal. Source

Zenfolio

Checked

Earnings model
Professional and Advanced plans sell prints and digital downloads from galleries and websites. Source
Creator share
7% commerce fee on the order subtotal before tax/shipping. Digital delivery adds $0.09 per file or $0.99 per gallery download. US processing: Stripe 2.9% + $0.30 or PayPal 3.49% + $0.49; regional rates vary. Source
Required seller cost
Professional annual: $11.50/month for the first year; renews at standard rates. Monthly billing is $23/month. Source
Exclusivity
Photographers retain content rights and grant Zenfolio a non-exclusive license to provide its service. Source
Payout
Order profits go to the linked Stripe or PayPal account within 3–5 business days after shipment; route and timing can vary by provider and location. Source

Pic-Time

Checked

Earnings model
Sell prints and digital products from client galleries, with lab fulfillment or self-fulfillment on eligible plans. Source
Creator share
For Pic-Time-collected orders, commission applies to order profit only: Client Delivery Suite is 15% Free/Beginner, 8% Professional, 6% Advanced; Art Store is 15% Professional and 8% Advanced. Eligible paid plans can avoid commission by collecting payments themselves; Beginner Suite and Professional Art Store cannot. Source
Required seller cost
Free plan available. Pic-Time Art costs $7/$21/$42 per month with annual billing or $8/$25/$50 monthly for Beginner/Professional/Advanced. Source
Exclusivity
Photographers retain rights to their content and grant a limited service-use license; no exclusive marketplace license is stated. Source
Payout
Pic-Time-collected profits go to PayPal on the 1st/15th once over $20 and approved 7 days before payout. Self-collected payments go to Stripe, PayPal, Square, or offline; sales tax and payout handling then belong to the photographer. Source

Pixieset

Checked

Earnings model
Store sells prints, digital downloads, and other photo products directly from client galleries. Source
Creator share
Free accounts pay 15% of the order subtotal, leaving 85% before product and processor costs. Paid plans charge 0% commission; lab, tax, shipping, and processor costs still apply. Source
Required seller cost
Free includes 3 GB. Paid Client Gallery plans start at $8/month billed annually or $10/month; commission is 0% on paid plans. Source
Exclusivity
Pixieset receives a non-exclusive license to host/use content to provide the service. Source
Payout
Stripe or PayPal pays the seller directly; payout timing depends on country and provider. Offline payments require an upgraded plan. Source

Pixels.com (Fine Art America)

Checked

Earnings model
Sell royalty-free and rights-managed digital image licenses on Pixels.com. Source
Creator share
You receive 100% of your asking price. Pixels.com adds a 30% markup for buyers, so the asking price is about 77% of the buyer’s total. Source
Required seller cost
A Standard account is free and supports up to 25 images. Optional Premium is $30/year and allows unlimited uploads. Source
Exclusivity
No exclusivity is required; images may also be listed on other licensing sites. Source
Payout
The license page pays monthly on the 15th for sales before the 15th of the prior month, but gives no method. Fine Art America’s general seller page lists PayPal for all members and checks for US members; license-specific applicability is not stated. Source

iStock and Getty Images

Stock photos and video

55–85%By agreement
Start
Six samples
Exclusive
Optional
Payouts
PayPal or Payoneer
All rates and sources
All iStock and Getty Images rates
RateWhen
Royalty
55–85%By agreementYou keep 15–45%

Exclusive contributors earn higher rates.

Checked

Sources

Alamy

Stock photos and video

85%Bronze, under $250
50%Platinum, exclusive

You keep 15% before other fees

Start
Free
Exclusive
Optional
Minimum payout
$75
+ 3 more rates
All Alamy rates
RateWhen
By yearly license fees
85%Bronze, under $250You keep 15%
80%Silver, $250 to $3,000You keep 20%
60%Gold, $3,000 to $25,000You keep 40%
50%Platinum, exclusiveYou keep 50%, from $25,000
Students
0%Direct sales for 2 yearsYou keep 100%

Your tier depends on the license fees you earned over the year.

Dreamstime

Stock photos and video

50–75%Non-exclusive files
40%Exclusive contributors
Start
Free
Exclusive
Optional
Minimum payout
$100
+ 1 more rate
All Dreamstime rates
RateWhen
Royalty
50–75%Non-exclusive filesYou keep 25–50%
45–72.5%Exclusive filesYou keep 27.5–55%
40%Exclusive contributorsYou keep 60%

The first 100 accepted files each earn a 20¢ upload bonus.

Depositphotos

Stock photos and video

62–70%Photo and vector packs
Start
Free, short exam
Exclusive
No
Minimum payout
$25
+ 4 more rates
All Depositphotos rates
RateWhen
Packs, by level
70%Green levelYou keep 30%
62%Platinum levelYou keep 38%
Other
$0.25–0.33Per subscription image
60%Music subscription poolArtists share 40%

Video pays 30–38% and audio 34–42%, by level.

123RF

Stock photos and video

40–70%Credit downloads
Start
No fee stated
Exclusive
No
Minimum payout
$50
+ 3 more rates
All 123RF rates
RateWhen
Credit downloads, by level
70%Level 1You keep 30%
40%Level 8You keep 60%
Subscriptions
$0.22–0.43Per download

Your level is based on downloads over the past 12 months.

Picfair

Photography store

0%Plus plan

You keep 100% before other fees

Lite
Preview only
Plus
Paid monthly or yearly
Payouts
About 14 days
All rates and sources
All Picfair rates
RateWhen
Picfair Plus
0%Plus planYou keep your full price

Public sales need the paid Plus plan.

PhotoShelter

Photography website

10%Basic, print orders
8%Pro, print orders

You keep 90% before other fees

Plan
Paid, price at signup
Payments
PayPal, Stripe, more
Exclusive
No
+ 1 more rate
All PhotoShelter rates
RateWhen
Print and product orders
10%Basic, print orders
9%Standard
8%Pro, print orders

Processor fees are extra. License sale fees could not be confirmed.

Checked

Sources

SmugMug

Photography storefront

15%Of your markup

You keep 85% before other fees

Plan
$282 a year
Payouts
Monthly
Exclusive
No
All rates and sources
All SmugMug rates
RateWhen
SmugMug
15%Of your markupYou keep 85% above base costs

SmugMug takes 15% of your profit above its print costs, not of the full order.

Zenfolio

Photography galleries

7%Order subtotal

You keep 93% before other fees

Plan
$23 a month
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢ Stripe
Downloads
9¢ per file
All rates and sources
All Zenfolio rates
RateWhen
Zenfolio
7%Order subtotalBefore tax and shipping

The Professional plan is $11.50 a month for the first year when billed yearly.

Pic-Time

Photography galleries

15%Free and Beginner
6%Advanced

You keep 85% before other fees

Plans
Free to $50 a month
Own payments
Avoid commission
Minimum payout
$20
+ 4 more rates
All Pic-Time rates
RateWhen
Client Delivery Suite
15%Free and Beginner
8%Professional
6%Advanced
Art Store
15%Professional
8%Advanced
Your own payments
0%Eligible paid plans

Commission is on order profit. Collecting payments yourself avoids it on most paid plans.

Pixieset

Photography galleries

15%Free plan
0%Paid plans

You keep 85% before other fees

Paid plans
From $8 a month
Payments
Stripe or PayPal
Free storage
3 GB
All rates and sources
All Pixieset rates
RateWhen
Pixieset
15%Free plan
0%Paid plans

Lab, shipping, tax, and card costs apply on every plan.