Platform fees

Compare freelance fees: Fiverr, Upwork and more

Compare marketplace commissions with services for managing clients you find yourself. Check seller costs, withdrawal charges and when funds become available.

18 platforms

US / USD unless labelled

Last checked

Sources and dates

Fiverr

Checked

Seller fee
Freelancer receives 80% of each completed order, including Gig Extras and tips: a 20% Fiverr cut. Source
Required seller cost
Free to join and list services; no subscription is required. Optional paid tools and Seller Plus are separate. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Withdrawals: PayPal $0; bank via Payoneer $1; Payoneer account $3. Provider and currency-conversion fees may apply. Source
Client source
Fiverr marketplace gigs; Fiverr Ads can promote listings for an added cost. Source
Money access
Standard funds clear 14 days after an order completes; eligible seller levels or paid programs may clear faster. Source

Upwork

Checked

Seller fee
Marketplace freelancer service fee is 0% to 15% per contract. Direct Contracts are 5%, or 0% with active Freelancer Plus. Source
Required seller cost
Connects cost $0.15 each; most job proposals require them. Optional Freelancer Plus is $19.99/month, includes 100 Connects/month and 0% Direct Contract fees. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Withdrawal fees vary: US bank free for US tax addresses or $2.99 for international addresses; local bank $0.99; USD wire $50; Instant Pay $2. Provider fees may apply. Source
Client source
Marketplace jobs or your own clients via Direct Contracts; marketplace clients may also pay a $0.99 to $14.99 contract initiation fee. Source
Money access
Hourly earnings are normally available 10 days after the weekly cycle; fixed-price funds clear 5 days after milestone approval. Source

Freelancer

Checked

Seller fee
Hourly: 10%. Fixed-price and contests: 10% or $5 minimum. Preferred Recruiter: 15%; eligible new-client quote: 3%; qualifying referred-client offer: 0% on future projects. New-client offers exclude contests. Source
Required seller cost
Free signup; 6 bids/month. A $20 unreserved balance is required to bid. Optional memberships start at $4.99/month; higher-risk jobs may require more. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Withdrawals: PayPal, Skrill, Payoneer, Express $1; international wire $25. Wire minimum $500; most other methods $50. Inactive accounts may incur up to $14/month after 6 months. Source
Client source
Marketplace projects and contests; eligible new clients can qualify for 3% quote or 0% referral promotions, with conditions. Source
Money access
After release, transfers usually take 24 hours to 5 business days; the first withdrawal has a 15-day hold. Source

PeoplePerHour

Checked

Seller fee
Per-buyer lifetime spend: 20% below £250; 7.5% from £250 to £5,000; 3.5% above £5,000. Fees exclude VAT; £1 minimum fee per invoice. Minimum AutoPay/hourly invoice payment is £6 excl. VAT. Source
Required seller cost
No signup, project-search, or offer-posting fee. 15 proposal credits are free monthly; more can be bought, but the public help page lists no price. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Minimum service fee is £1 per invoice, excluding VAT. PPH does not list a fixed withdrawal fee; international intermediary bank fees may apply. Source
Client source
Find buyers through the PeoplePerHour marketplace. Source
Money access
Funds clear in about 14 working days; PPH processes requests within 2 working days. After approval: UK bank 24 hours, local/SEPA 1–3 days, international bank 3–7 days; PayPal/Payoneer usually minutes. Source

Contra

Checked

Seller fee
Creator commission is 0%. Free plan: $15 for $1–$499 projects and $29 for $500+; Pro waives this fee. Depending on the project flow, the fee may be assigned to the client or Independent. Source
Required seller cost
Free account. Optional Contra Pro costs $29 monthly or $17 per month when billed annually. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Client payment fees: cards 2.9% + $0.30 domestic (+0.5% manually entered, +1.5% international, +1% currency conversion); ACH 0.8% capped at $5; SEPA 0.5% + $0.30 capped at $6; wallet 1.5%; crypto 2% Free / 1% Pro. Seller payout and conversion costs vary by method and location. Source
Client source
Independents can invite existing clients and apply to jobs in Contra’s job feed. Source
Money access
Standard payouts are free and include a 4-day safety hold. Faster payout costs 2% on Free and is free on Pro; transfer timing varies by method. Source

Malt

Checked

Seller fee
Latest fee guide lists 5% standard; some FR/ES/BE projects start at 10% and fall to 5% after six months. Other official guides list 0% in UK/NL, 10% then 5%, and 2% for invited clients. The quote shows the applied fee. Source
Required seller cost
Malt’s public freelancer guides do not list a required monthly seller plan price; project commissions are shown in the quote. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Freelancer commission is quoted before VAT; VAT on Malt service invoices depends on the billing entity, country, and tax status. Source
Client source
Find projects through Malt or invite existing clients to manage projects and payments on the platform. Source
Money access
Payout timing follows project terms: prepaid work pays after validation; eligible cash-advance projects pay within 10 days; other client invoice terms are usually 30–60 days. Source

Workana

Checked

Seller fee
Published table lists 20% on $0–$300, 10% on $301–$3,000, and 5% from $3,000 per client. Prose says 5% applies above $3,000, leaving that exact boundary ambiguous. Source
Required seller cost
Profile creation, job search, and proposals are free; optional benefits plans start at about $1/day for Explorer. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Clients pay a 4.5% service charge (minimum $2); payment-processing cost varies by method and country. Source
Client source
Clients post marketplace projects or hire directly; all payments between the same client and freelancer count toward the commission tiers. Source
Money access
Free-plan withdrawals run monthly on the 1st–5th; paid plans add mid-month or weekly withdrawals. Payoneer requires a $30 minimum balance. Source

Guru

Checked

Seller fee
Base job fee by membership: Basic 9%, Basic+ 9%, Professional 7%, Business 6%, Executive 5%. The employer may agree to cover up to 5 percentage points, reducing the freelancer’s share. Source
Required seller cost
Free Basic membership includes 10 bids per month; optional paid memberships add bids and features. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Employer handling fee is 2.9%; current pricing promises 100% cashback for eCheck or wire. An older help article also lists physical checks and 3% cashback. Source
Client source
Freelancers find work by searching jobs and sending quotes to employers. Source
Money access
Withdrawals use PayPal, Payoneer debit card, US eCheck, non-US bank, or wire where available. Guru processes requests on business days; bank timing depends on method and location. Source

Truelancer

Checked

Seller fee
The current fee page lists an 8–10% seller service fee by membership; older official terms from 2020 list 3–10%, so the exact current membership schedule is not consistent across official pages. Source
Required seller cost
Non-premium accounts get 20 free proposals monthly; extra proposal packs cost $4–$20. Paid membership programs are also offered. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Withdrawal fees vary: India INR bank transfer $0; Payoneer bank transfer $3; Payoneer account $0; USD bank transfer $25; PayPal charges its own fee. Currency conversion or bank fees may also apply. Source
Client source
Find work through freelance jobs and fixed-price service listings; platform payments go through the Truelancer wallet. Source
Money access
Truelancer says it processes withdrawal requests within two days; final arrival time depends on the selected payment provider and bank. Source

Legiit

Checked

Seller fee
Legiit deducts a 15% seller fee from the total sale amount. Source
Required seller cost
General use is free; sellers may optionally buy Premium Seller for $27 per month. The 15% seller fee applies to completed sales. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Third-party payment providers may add 3% (wallet payments are exempt); an affiliate-referred sale can add another 15%; withdrawals cost $3. Source
Client source
Sell digital services through Legiit marketplace listings; affiliate links can also refer buyers. Source
Money access
After the buyer marks an order complete, Legiit verifies payment within five days; if the buyer does not respond, completion is automatic after three days. Payout can take up to 72 more hours to appear. Source

99designs

Checked

Seller fee
For 1-to-1 projects, designer platform fee is 15% Entry, 10% Mid, or 5% Top level. New clients add 20% of the first $500 in paid invoices (maximum $100); waivers apply for contest finalists/winners or qualifying invitations. Source
Required seller cost
Designer signup is free; applications are reviewed and accepted designers are assigned a level. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
For 1-to-1 projects, clients also pay a fixed 5% platform fee. Payment-provider charges may vary by location. Source
Client source
Designers get work through design contests, designer search, services, and direct 1-to-1 projects. Source
Money access
Hyperwallet is required; the $25 minimum is tracked separately for US/EU earnings. Current official guides differ: one says released funds reach Hyperwallet within 5 business days; another says a 5-business-day review plus 1–2 more days. Bank delivery takes 1–5 business days; PayPal takes 1–2. Methods and fees vary by region. Source

DesignCrowd

Checked

Seller fee
DesignCrowd retains 15% of designer payments, including place awards, participation payments, paid invitations, and tips. Source
Required seller cost
Creating a DesignCrowd designer account is free. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Payout costs depend on provider and location. Official guidance lists 2% Payoneer FX and PayPal charges of at least 2.5%; PayPal fees vary by region. Source
Client source
Designers get paid through contests, One Designer jobs, and paid invitations. Source
Money access
Contest payments can be delayed by customer-requested changes, design QA or copyright checks, or contest-holder handover approval. Source

VGen

Checked

Seller fee
VGen charges artists a 5% service fee on commissions; this is separate from payment processing and international payout fees. Source
Required seller cost
No upfront or monthly platform fee. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
VGen Payments processing is 2.9% + $0.30; non-US artists also pay a country-dependent 1.5–2.5% payout fee. PayPal charges follow the artist’s PayPal terms; clients pay their own FX fees. Source
Client source
Artists list commission services for discovery on VGen or share their profile to bring clients. Source
Money access
VGen Payments: $50 wallet minimum; manual payouts take up to 7–10 business days initially, then 3–5. PayPal funds reach the PayPal balance instantly. Source

Artists&Clients

Checked

Seller fee
Current seller share is not published; an official 2014 post said the completed-job fee became 15% Source
Required seller cost
Current account or listing cost is not stated in public seller materials Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Current processing, withdrawal and conversion charges are not stated; the 2014 post mentioned PayPal costs Source
Client source
Commission-slot marketplace where buyers browse artist offers and request work Source
Money access
Current payout method and timing are not stated; official 2014 post mentioned auto-payouts on the 15th Source

Skeb

Checked

Seller fee
Request fee: 9.8% standard, 8.3% with either discount condition, 6.8% with both. Boost is separate, up to 13.6%. Source
Required seller cost
Account setup and request acceptance are free; request fee is deducted from creator payout. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
No extra client fee. Each withdrawal costs ¥458 to a Japanese bank or ¥254 to Kyash. Source
Client source
Built for existing fans; discovery and search are intentionally limited. Source
Money access
Earnings credit 10 seconds after delivery. Withdraw per work or monthly: Kyash/zero-time is instant; standard bank transfer takes 24 hours or more after a request, with possible delays. Source

Artistree

Checked

Seller fee
Official seller guides do not state a current commission fee Source
Required seller cost
Official public seller guides do not state a required seller-plan cost Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Official public seller guides do not state payment-processing or withdrawal charges Source
Client source
Sell custom digital work through your request form; marketplace listing requires application and verification Source
Money access
Official public seller guides do not state payout method or timing Source

SoundBetter

Checked

Seller fee
Project and track fees are shown when submitting proposals or listing tracks; Storefront commission is 10%. Source
Required seller cost
Storefront costs $9.99/month or $99/year. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Payment-provider processing fees are deducted separately; the provider sets the amount. Source
Client source
Music services marketplace plus a creator storefront for digital goods and services. Source
Money access
Marketplace funds release after client approval or auto-completion after 14 days; Storefront payout timing follows the provider. Source

AirGigs

Checked

Seller fee
10% for Top Rated or sellers featuring at least one service; otherwise 15%. $8 minimum per order. Source
Required seller cost
One-time $20 seller activation fee; no monthly or membership fee. Source
Payment and withdrawal charges
Account funding fee: 4.7% by card or 2.9% by ACH. Payout providers may charge separately. Source
Client source
Music production marketplace for audio and multimedia services. Source
Money access
Payoneer: 3.99% (+$0.49 in some countries), typically Tue/Thu; currency conversion fees apply outside USD. PayPal: 3-day clearance, usually under 24h for final approval, then 12–24h after daily processing. Source

Freelancer

Freelance marketplace

10%Hourly and fixed-price
15%Preferred Recruiter

You keep 90% before other fees

Start
Free, 6 bids
Bid balance
$20 needed
PayPal payout
$1
+ 2 more rates
All Freelancer rates
RateWhen
Freelancer
10%Hourly and fixed-priceAt least $5 on fixed-price
15%Preferred Recruiter
3%Eligible new clients
0%Clients you referOn future projects

Your first withdrawal has a 15-day hold.

PeoplePerHour

Freelance marketplace

20%Under £250 per client
3.5%Over £5,000

You keep 80% before other fees

Start
Free
Credits
15 free a month
Funds clear
About 14 working days
+ 1 more rate
All PeoplePerHour rates
RateWhen
By total spent per client
20%Under £250 per client
7.5%£250 to £5,000
3.5%Over £5,000

Fees are before VAT, with a £1 minimum per invoice.

Malt

Freelance marketplace, Europe

5%Standard
0–10%By country and client

You keep 95% before other fees

Plan
None listed
VAT
Depends on country
Payouts
By project terms
+ 3 more rates
All Malt rates
RateWhen
Malt
5%Standard
10%Some FR, ES, BE projectsFalls to 5% after six months
2%Clients you invite
0%UK and Netherlands

Malt’s guides differ by country. Your quote shows the fee that applies.

Workana

Freelance marketplace

20%First $300 per client
5%Above $3,000

You keep 80% before other fees

Start
Free
Clients pay
+ 4.5%
Payouts
Monthly on Free
+ 1 more rate
All Workana rates
RateWhen
By total paid per client
20%First $300 per client
10%$301 to $3,000
5%Above $3,000

All payments from the same client count toward the lower rates.

Legiit

Freelance services

15%Each sale

You keep 85% before other fees

Start
Free
Premium
$27 a month
Withdrawal
$3
+ 2 more rates
All Legiit rates
RateWhen
Legiit
15%Each sale
+ 15%Affiliate sales
+ 3%Some payment methods

Payouts can take up to 72 hours after an order is verified.

Checked

Sources

VGen

Art commissions

5%Commissions

You keep 95% before other fees

Start
Free
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢
Minimum payout
$50
All rates and sources
All VGen rates
RateWhen
VGen
5%CommissionsBefore card fees

Artists outside the US also pay a 1.5–2.5% payout fee.

Checked

Sources

Skeb

Commissions, Japan

9.8%Standard
6.8%Both discounts

You keep 90.2% before other fees

Start
Free
Client fee
None
Bank withdrawal
¥458
+ 1 more rate
All Skeb rates
RateWhen
Skeb request fee
9.8%Standard
8.3%One discount
6.8%Both discounts

Boost is a separate fee of up to 13.6%.

Checked

Sources

SoundBetter

Music services

10%Storefront sales
Shown in proposalProjects

You keep 90% before other fees

Storefront
$9.99 a month
Card fees
Taken separately
Funds release
After approval
All rates and sources
All SoundBetter rates
RateWhen
SoundBetter
10%Storefront sales
Shown in proposalProjectsShown on each proposal

Project fees are shown when you send a proposal.

Checked

Sources