Compare stock video earnings: Pond5, Adobe Stock and more
Compare creator shares for stock footage and motion templates. Subscription earnings, exclusivity and payout terms can make headline rates difficult to compare on their own.
9 platforms
US / USD unless labelled
Last checked
Sources and dates
Pond5
Checked
Earnings model
Stock video is licensed directly, through subscriptions, and through partner programs; some partner/dataset payouts follow separate terms. Source
Creator share
30% non-exclusive or 40% exclusive for video licenses. Dataset earnings are 20%; partner and extended-license earnings can use separate terms. Source
Required seller cost
Free to create an artist account, upload footage, and start selling. Source
Exclusivity
Exclusivity is optional. The 40% rate requires footage to be exclusive to Pond5/Shutterstock marketplaces; direct sales on your own site remain allowed. Source
Payout
Regular earnings pay on the 15th when the balance is at least $25. PayPal, Payoneer, or Skrill; Skrill deducts 4%. Partner/dataset payment timing can differ. Source
Per-download licensing. Some video downloads pay a $0.10 minimum when the level percentage would be lower. Source
Creator share
Six video earnings levels range from 15% to 40%, based on current-year video downloads; levels reset each January. Source
Required seller cost
Contributor account and video submissions are free. Source
Exclusivity
Shutterstock is non-exclusive; contributors keep copyright and can sell the same work elsewhere. Source
Payout
Automatic monthly payouts use the account setting, but payout help does not state its floor. Terms v9 sets $35 electronically or $500 by check; some countries also wait 90 days from first approval. Official pages conflict on the minimum. Source
Per-item licensing; separate subscription and partner programs. Source
Creator share
Per-item sales: 50% non-exclusive or 70% exclusive. Global Content+ pays 50% of net license fees, with plan-specific subscription calculations. Source
Required seller cost
No upfront listing fee is stated. The FAQ says no commission, while the per-item terms give creators 50% or 70%; the meaning of commission is unclear. Source
Exclusivity
Non-exclusive by default. Exclusive items can be sold through MotionElements, your own site, or as hard copies. Source
Payout
Monthly, 15th to 18th; $25 or $100 threshold; Wise, PayPal, or Payoneer. Provider fees may apply. Source
Footage is distributed through partner agencies; earnings come from their licenses. Source
Creator share
BlackBox takes a 15% commission plus an approximately 3% transaction fee on monthly net sales; the balance is distributed pro rata by contributor ownership. Source
Subscription revenue pool, with separate dataset and machine-learning revenue terms. Source
Creator share
Member Library earnings come from a revenue pool; each contributor share varies by the value/downloads of their content relative to others. The pool size and exact share are proprietary. The agreement uses 60% only as an example. Source
Required seller cost
No required seller fee is listed in the public contributor guide or agreement. Source
Exclusivity
Video is non-exclusive and removable on 30 days notice; the agreement also grants dataset and model-training rights. Source
Payout
Member Library payouts are monthly around the 15th; Payoneer requires $10, while thresholds for PayPal, bank, wire, check and eCheck vary. AI/model-product payouts are semiannual; third-party processing fees are deducted. Source
Contributors earn royalties when licensed content sells. Source
Creator share
A current creator percentage is not published in the public contributor materials. Source
Required seller cost
A current seller or listing fee is not published in the public contributor materials. Source
Exclusivity
The contributor guide describes an exclusive contributor option alongside regular submissions. Source
Payout
The latest public contributor guide found is from 2019: it says payment was due in the second half of the next month. Current public payout methods, minimum and schedule are not stated. Source