Compare design asset earnings: Creative Market, Canva and more
Compare a share of individual sales with earnings from subscriptions and contributor programs. Seller costs, exclusivity and extra deductions affect what reaches you.
15 platforms
US / USD unless labelled
Last checked
Sources and dates
Creative Market
Checked
Earnings model
General licenses cover photos, graphics, templates, themes, and add-ons. Source
Creator share
Default share is 50% of list price; shop and product rates may vary. Source
Required seller cost
No public setup or listing charge is stated; shop requests require portfolio review. Source
Exclusivity
No exclusivity lock-in; sellers may also sell on their own sites and elsewhere. Source
Extra deductions
Dashboard earnings exclude refunds; tax withholding may also apply. Source
Non-exclusive; sellers can list on other platforms. Source
Extra deductions
Latest payout guide (Jul 2025): PayPal payouts under $10 cost $0.50; Payoneer minimum $100; bank payouts require $120 including a $20 handling fee. Current tax/refund deductions need current terms. Source
Individual file sales and a monthly membership royalty pool. Source
Creator share
Half of net membership income after payment processing funds the pool; each artist share depends on downloads. The public agreement does not state an individual-sale rate. Source
Required seller cost
The public seller agreement does not state a signup or listing charge. Source
Exclusivity
The seller agreement grants Design Bundles a non-exclusive license to distribute the submitted art. Source
Extra deductions
Third-party processing fees are deducted before the membership pool is split; royalties are paid monthly through PayPal or Payoneer. Source
Subscriber-share pool, allocated using the relative points of downloaded items. Source
Creator share
Authors collectively share 50% of base-tier Individual/Teams net revenue and 25% of Enterprise net revenue; each author gets a download-weighted portion. Source
Required seller cost
New author applications are paused; only direct invitations are possible. No new Elements signup is available. Source
Exclusivity
Non-exclusive; authors may sell their items elsewhere. Source
Extra deductions
Net pool excludes tax, refunds/reversals, affiliate and service costs, discounts, and processing fees; income/withholding tax and currency conversion costs may reduce payout. Source
Design Cuts closed on 16 January 2025. Creative Market acquired the brand and hosts the official closure notice. One duplicate page heading says 2024, but the main announcement says 2025 and describes download access through June 2025. Source
Creator share
Not applicable to current sales: Design Cuts is closed and publishes no active standalone seller royalty schedule. Source
Required seller cost
Not applicable to current selling: the Design Cuts marketplace closed; Creative Market has its own seller program. Source
Exclusivity
Not applicable to current selling: no active standalone Design Cuts distribution or exclusivity program. Source
Extra deductions
The closure notice says sellers were paid within 24 hours of closure; the past-purchase download service was deactivated in June 2025. Source
Premium asset downloads earn pay-per-download royalties from subscriber net revenue, weighted by asset type and subscriber activity. Source
Creator share
50% of each subscriber net revenue amount forms the pool. A contributor earns according to weighted downloads by that subscriber: icons x1, photos/vectors/PSD x3, videos x12; other subscriber downloads count x3 in the denominator. Source
Required seller cost
Applicants need portfolio review and approval, then submit 150 to 200 initial assets. Public contributor steps list no seller fee. Source
Exclusivity
For partner distribution, Magnific takes a non-exclusive distribution and sublicensing license; contributors retain ownership and may distribute elsewhere. Source
Extra deductions
Standard download royalties need a $25 / €50 invoice minimum; PayPal, Payoneer, or eligible SEPA transfer; paid two months after downloads. Partner distribution pays 50% of net, with no added deductions, at least every three months. Source
Accepted stock media earns royalties per unique, de-duplicated license, whether purchased or included in an eligible subscription. Source
Creator share
Royalty amounts vary by usage and Canva's model; there is no fixed contributor percentage. Template royalties are popularity-based. Source
Required seller cost
Creators must apply and be approved. Template applications are open; new Element Creator applications are paused, and Education Creator is a small beta. Public program terms list no seller fee. Source
Exclusivity
Accepted stock media is licensed non-exclusively; accepted templates are exclusive to Canva for three years. Source
Extra deductions
Refunds and chargebacks can reverse royalties; tax withholding depends on country and treaty. Terms list a $10 payout threshold, then $10 for non-SWIFT and $20 for SWIFT, so the threshold wording conflicts. Source
Pro uses subscriber-share royalties allocated among a subscriber’s Pro downloads; Free uses pay-per-download royalties. Source
Creator share
Pro splits Pro revenue 50/50. Free PPD pays $5 per 1,000 photo/vector downloads and $10 per 1,000 video downloads; partner licensing may use separate terms. Source
Required seller cost
Apply with 10 sample resources; the public contributor pages list no seller signup or listing fee. Source
Exclusivity
No exclusivity is required. The current contributor page says uploads are non-exclusive; an older agreement copy also describes optional approved exclusivity. Source
Extra deductions
Contributors can set a payout minimum from $25 to $2,000. Source
Icons earn royalties from single purchases, website subscriptions, API calls, and optional Noun Studio derivative downloads. Source
Creator share
Current creator terms set 60% of net on single purchases and Noun Studio, and 50% of net on subscription/API use. Source
Required seller cost
Only selected creators are currently accepted. No contributor fee is listed on the public creator pages. Source
Exclusivity
Creators retain ownership and may grant additional non-exclusive licenses; The Noun Project’s license is non-exclusive. Source
Extra deductions
Net revenue deducts set expenses, which can include taxes, fees, disputes, chargebacks, and refunds. PayPal payout starts at $25 and is due by the end of the following month. The creator page still says 40% of shared subscription/API revenue, unlike the terms. Source
Digital products sell per item through the Marketplace or an ArtStation-powered website. Source
Creator share
The August 2026 Help table lists seller shares of 88% for Non-Pro Marketplace sales, 92% for Pro promoted sales and 95% for self-promoted or own-site sales. The Sell Goods page still lists 70% for Free and 80–95% for Pro, so the official pages differ. Source
Required seller cost
A free plan can sell digital products. Pro starts at $9.95 per month and raises the seller share. Source
Exclusivity
Creators retain ownership. The terms grant Epic a non-exclusive license to use content to provide, improve, and promote ArtStation. Source
Extra deductions
Each order item costs $0.30. The same page FAQ says no-referrer Marketplace discovery pays a 15% commission, conflicting with the table’s 3% Pro promotion fee. Source
Premium Downloads are per-sale digital products. New listings require an active Core membership. Source
Creator share
Creators keep 80% on existing Non-Core listings, 88% with Core/Core+, 95% with Core Pro, and 97.5% with Core Pro+/Max, before processing and withdrawal fees. Source
Required seller cost
New monetization listings require active paid Core. Current prices are on the official Core Membership page and vary by plan. Source
Exclusivity
Buyers receive usage rights, not copyright; sellers retain all other rights. Public Premium Download guidance does not state a marketplace exclusivity requirement. Source
Extra deductions
Each transaction adds $0.30 + 3.5% processing. PayPal, Stripe, or BitPay withdrawals add country- and currency-dependent payout fees; funds have a seven-day hold. Source