Platform fees

Compare digital selling fees: Gumroad, Etsy, Payhip and more

Compare monthly plans, sale fees and payment processing for digital downloads. A sale through a marketplace can have a different fee from a sale you bring to your own store.

25 platforms

US / USD unless labelled

Last checked

Sources and dates

Gumroad

Checked

Plan cost
No setup or monthly fee. Source
Platform fee
Direct sales: 10% + $0.50; after $20,000 in monthly paid sales, new direct sales that month drop to 5% + $0.50. Sales tax on fees may apply. Source
Payment processing
Card processing is separate at 2.9% + $0.30; PayPal charges its own fee. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Discover marketplace sales: 30% flat, including payment processing. Source
Sales tax handling
Gumroad is merchant of record for indirect tax on sales through its service and handles collection and remittance where required. Source

Payhip

Checked

Plan cost
Free $0/month; Plus $29/month; Pro $99/month. Source
Platform fee
Platform fee: 5% Free, 2% Plus, 0% Pro. Source
Payment processing
PayPal or Stripe processing fees apply on every plan; the processor sets rates by account and market. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Marketplace sales add no fee; the normal Payhip plan transaction fee still applies. Source
Sales tax handling
From 2026-07-01, Payhip collects and remits Canadian GST/HST and PST. Sellers still handle Quebec QST if registered or required; sellers handle other taxes Payhip does not collect. Source

Sellfy

Checked

Plan cost
Starter $39/month or $348/year; Business $79/month or $708/year; Premium $159/month or $1,428/year. Annual sales caps: $10k/$50k/$200k. Source
Platform fee
0% Sellfy commission within the plan limit; orders after the cap incur 2% until the seller upgrades. Source
Payment processing
Processor fees are separate. US card rates are 2.9% + $0.30; PayPal fees vary by country. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Not applicable: checkout is on the seller’s own storefront, with no marketplace sale. Source
Sales tax handling
Seller is merchant of record and files/pays taxes. Sellfy calculates configured taxes at checkout and provides reports. Source

SendOwl

Checked

Plan cost
Launch: table 10 GB/mo vs FAQ 20 GB; Grow: table 20 GB/mo vs FAQ 30 GB. Launch is $39/mo or $32.50/mo annually, with 5k orders and $10k sales/year. Source
Platform fee
No per-sale commission. Standard bandwidth overage is $1/GB; order or sales caps trigger a plan upgrade. Source
Payment processing
US Stripe: 2.9% + $0.30. PayPal and non-US processor rates vary by seller and payment. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Discovery Engine is in development; current plan has no listing or sale fee, but SendOwl may revisit pricing after launch. Source
Sales tax handling
Seller registers, collects, files, and pays taxes; SendOwl calculates and tracks taxes from seller-configured rules. Source

Etsy

Checked

Plan cost
$0.20 per listing or renewal; listing lasts four months. A one-time shop setup fee may apply depending on seller location. Source
Platform fee
6.5% transaction fee on the listing price plus shipping and gift wrap. Sellers in nine countries also pay a 0.05% to 1.97% regulatory operating fee. Source
Payment processing
US Etsy Payments: 3% + $0.25 per order. Processing rates vary by seller country; deposit or currency-conversion fees may also apply. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Offsite Ads: 15% below $10k trailing-365-day sales; 12% at/above $10k; maximum $100 per attributed order. Source
Sales tax handling
Etsy collects and remits VAT on eligible digital items in listed countries and US sales tax where marketplace-facilitator laws apply; sellers handle other tax duties. Source

Whop

Checked

Plan cost
No setup or monthly fee on standard pay-as-you-go pricing. Source
Platform fee
No separate seller commission is itemized in current fee docs; seller terms refer to any service fee shown in Whop pricing. Source
Payment processing
US cards: 2.7% + $0.30; international +1.5%; FX +1%; ACH 1.5% (max $5). Payouts: ACH $2.50; RTP 4% + $1; crypto/Venmo 5% + $1; wire $23. Financing partner: 15% per successful transaction. Source
Marketplace sale fee
No separate marketplace-sale rate is listed; product sales use Whop’s published service and payment fees. Source
Sales tax handling
Tax Service modes: Whop Collects and Remits or Whop Calculates; You Remit. Both cost 2%; only the first makes Whop tax-only merchant of record. Sellers retain tax obligations. Source

Lemon Squeezy digital downloads

Checked

Plan cost
$0/month; no required monthly fee for payment processing. Email marketing has a separate plan above 500 subscribers. Source
Platform fee
Standard fee: 5% + $0.50 of order total; add 1.5% for international or PayPal and 0.5% for subscriptions. Affiliate referrals add 3%; recovered-cart sales add 5%. Source
Payment processing
Card processing and tax handling are included in the standard platform fee. Payout fees vary: US bank $0; non-US bank 1%; PayPal $0.50 US or 3% capped at $30 elsewhere. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Opt-in marketplace sales cost 30%, replacing the standard platform fee. Source
Sales tax handling
Merchant of record collects and remits sales tax/VAT where required; sellers remain responsible for income tax. Source

Fourthwall digital products

Checked

Plan cost
Free; Pro $15/month when billed yearly (yearly billing saves $48) Source
Platform fee
5% fee on Free; 0% on Pro digital-product sales Source
Payment processing
US credit cards: 2.9% + $0.30; PayPal and other methods vary Source
Marketplace sale fee
Not applicable: products sell through the creator’s own Fourthwall shop Source
Sales tax handling
Fourthwall is merchant of record and handles sales-tax collection and remittance Source

Stan Store

Checked

Plan cost
Creator $29/mo or $300/yr; Pro $99/mo or $948/yr Source
Platform fee
0% Stan transaction fee Source
Payment processing
US Stripe: 2.9% + $0.30; international +1.5%; recurring +0.5%. Payout: 0.25% + $0.25 ($1 minimum); +1% for cross-currency sales. PayPal: 3.49% plus a currency-fixed fee. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Not applicable: sales run through the creator’s Stan storefront Source
Sales tax handling
Optional Stripe tax calculation and checkout collection in supported regions; seller registration is required. Remittance duties are not stated. Source

Beacons

Checked

Plan cost
Free; Creator $10/mo ($100/yr); Plus $30/mo ($300/yr). Max conflicts: pricing page shows $100/mo and $900/yr ($83.3/mo annual); plan article says $90/mo and $900/yr. Source
Platform fee
9% on Free and Creator; 0% on Plus and Max Source
Payment processing
Stripe: 2.9% + $0.30; PayPal: 3.49% + currency-fixed fee Source
Marketplace sale fee
Affiliate commission is creator-set; the plan’s Beacons fee still applies Source
Sales tax handling
Public terms do not say who calculates, collects or remits buyer sales tax Source

Pensight

Checked

Plan cost
$0/mo; $29/mo; $99/mo; 20% off annual plans Source
Platform fee
0% separately listed platform transaction fee; Pensight states its 3% charge is the only transaction fee and includes Stripe processing, support, and hosting. Source
Payment processing
The 3% charge includes Stripe processing, support, hosting, and other services; no additional percentage is listed. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Not applicable: sales run through a creator page, not a listed marketplace Source
Sales tax handling
Seller is responsible for applicable external and income taxes Source

The Leap

Checked

Plan cost
Free; Pro $19/mo; Elite $59/mo Source
Platform fee
No platform commission on any plan Source
Payment processing
Stripe processing: 2.9%; fixed card fee is not stated Source
Marketplace sale fee
Creator stores and discovery directory; no separate marketplace rate Source
Sales tax handling
Terms last modified 2024-03-11: Thinkific collects/remits tax only for Thinkific Payments; current payment and tax setup is not independently confirmed. Source

PayLoadz

Checked

Plan cost
Homepage: $1 for a 14-day trial, then $49/mo; account table: first 7 days free, then $49/mo. Source
Platform fee
0% standard; $0.05 fee on orders below $2 in detailed schedule Source
Payment processing
Buyer pays through seller’s PayPal; PayPal processing fees apply Source
Marketplace sale fee
Free store listings; same low-order fee applies Source
Sales tax handling
Seller determines, collects and remits applicable sales taxes Source

DPD

Checked

Plan cost
$10–$30/mo; 20–120 products and 1–6GB; 30-day trial Source
Platform fee
0% on product sales; $0.69/subscriber/mo after first 5 in subscription stores Source
Payment processing
Payouts go to your processor; seller pays its processing fees Source
Marketplace sale fee
Checkout cart for your site; no marketplace sales Source
Sales tax handling
Seller configures tax rules; DPD calculates; seller reports and remits EU VAT Source

FetchApp

Checked

Plan cost
Free Hobby; $5 Starter; Business from $10/mo by storage and license-key limits Source
Platform fee
No commission or usage charge Source
Payment processing
Connected cart handles payment; cart and processor fees apply Source
Marketplace sale fee
Delivery tool for connected stores; no marketplace sales Source
Sales tax handling
Seller pays taxes on FetchApp fees outside the US; buyer sales-tax handling is unstated Source

Pulley

Checked

Plan cost
$6–$299/mo; 25 to unlimited products; 14-day trial Source
Platform fee
No commission or per-transaction fee Source
Payment processing
PayPal processing fees apply separately Source
Marketplace sale fee
Digital-file delivery tool; no marketplace sales Source
Sales tax handling
Seller pays taxes on Pulley fees; buyer sales-tax handling is not stated Source

Sell.app

Checked

Plan cost
Standard $0/mo; Advanced $199.99/mo Source
Platform fee
Standard 3% per sale; Advanced 0% platform fee Source
Payment processing
SellApp says card fees may be 3.5%; actual rates vary by provider and method Source
Marketplace sale fee
Hosted or embedded creator storefront; no marketplace fee Source
Sales tax handling
Optional Paddle checkout can act as merchant of record and handle tax compliance. Source

SellSN

Checked

Plan cost
Archived 2024 official terms identify a digital-goods marketplace operated by SellSN MB. Source
Platform fee
Current fee terms could not be confirmed after the named operator was deregistered following bankruptcy on Jan 15, 2026. Source
Payment processing
Could not verify current payment-processing terms because the official seller site returned errors in this review. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Could not verify current marketplace-sale fees because the official seller site returned errors in this review. Source
Sales tax handling
Could not verify current tax terms because the official demo terms page returned errors in this review. Source

BOOTH

Checked

Plan cost
Free shop; optional paid BOOTH Apps Source
Platform fee
Standard digital downloads: 5.6% of price + ¥45. Touhou Project downloads add 11.4% of the combined item price and BOOST amount. Source
Payment processing
Bank payout: ¥200 below ¥30,000 or ¥300 at/above. PayPal and BOOTH Wise fees are ¥0; Wise fees still apply, and Wise is a temporary alternative if other methods are unavailable. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Marketplace sales use the same standard service fee Source
Sales tax handling
Prices include consumption tax; intermediary invoicing applies when business information is registered in the BOOTH shop. Source

DLsite

Checked

Plan cost
An official July 2022 release says circle registration was free; current setup terms are unconfirmed. Source
Platform fee
July 2022 examples: ¥110 sale → ¥55 creator payout (50% fee); ¥4,400 sale → ¥3,520 payout (20% fee). These are historical examples, not current rates. Source
Payment processing
2020 terms: monthly sales were paid by the following month’s 20th; balances under ¥3,000 rolled over. DLsite covered Japanese bank transfer fees; sellers paid overseas transfer-service charges. Current terms unconfirmed. Source
Marketplace sale fee
The 2017 Taiwan terms said English DLsite followed Japan’s pricing, payment, and tax standards. They do not confirm today’s Japanese royalty table. Source
Sales tax handling
2020 terms say non-residents and foreign corporations are subject to withholding. The 2017 Taiwan terms show historical rates; current withholding and invoice rules are unconfirmed. Source

itch.io digital downloads

Checked

Plan cost
Free creator account; Payouts mode has a one-time $3 tax-identity verification fee. Source
Platform fee
Seller chooses 0–100% revenue share; the default is 10%. Source
Payment processing
PayPal/Stripe processing is typically 2.9% + $0.30; provider, country and currency conversion can change it. Source
Marketplace sale fee
The same seller-set revenue share applies to marketplace sales. Source
Sales tax handling
Direct mode: seller collects/remits VAT. Payouts mode: itch.io collects/remits VAT. Payouts default withholding is 30% without a valid tax ID. Source

Nas.com

Checked

Plan cost
Annual billing: Pro $20.75/mo; Platinum $66.58/mo. Eligible subscriptions may offer a 7-day trial; prices vary by region and billing cycle. Source
Platform fee
US digital Nas fee: Pro 2.9%, Platinum 1%; gateway fees are separate. Source
Payment processing
US gateway: 2.9% + $0.30, plus 1.5% for non-US-issued cards. Other regions use different rates. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Digital files sell from the business owner’s storefront; no separate marketplace sale fee is listed. Source
Sales tax handling
Public digital-product guidance does not say who calculates, collects or remits checkout sales tax. Source

Ko-fi Shop

Checked

Plan cost
The Shop is free; Ko-fi Gold is $12/month. Source
Platform fee
Shop fee: 5% on Free/Standard; Gold is 0% after opting out of the optional “Get all of Ko-fi” service fee. Source
Payment processing
PayPal/Stripe processing is usually about 3% + $0.30; actual fees vary by account, location and currency. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Payments go directly to the creator; Ko-fi offers a creator Shop, not a public product marketplace. Source
Sales tax handling
Creator handles sales tax/VAT; Ko-fi adds seller-set tax to Shop checkout but does not remit it. Source

Skillshare digital products

Checked

Plan cost
No product listing fee; a live Skillshare class is required to sell digital products. Source
Platform fee
10% platform fee on the full amount charged, before payment-processing fees. Source
Payment processing
Stripe: 2.9% + $0.30 per sale. Wise withdrawal is usually about $1 for USD; currency fees vary. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Skillshare is the product marketplace; each digital-product sale has the same 10% platform fee. Source
Sales tax handling
Seller determines, collects, reports and remits applicable taxes on digital-product sales; Skillshare does not. Source

PayHere

Checked

Plan cost
$0 Starter; Business $149/mo; Enterprise tailored. Source
Platform fee
Starter and Business: 1.5% per sale; Enterprise rate is negotiable. Source
Payment processing
Stripe card-processing fees are extra; rates depend on Stripe account and market. Source
Marketplace sale fee
Hosted payment pages and storefronts; Payhere is not a sales marketplace. Source
Sales tax handling
Seller calculates, reports and pays taxes on payments received. Source

Gumroad

Downloads and memberships

10% + 50¢Direct sales
5% + 50¢After $20k a month

You keep 90% before other fees

Start
Free
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢
Discover
30%
+ 1 more rate
All Gumroad rates
RateWhen
Direct sales
10%+ 50¢Direct sales
5%+ 50¢After $20k a monthFor the rest of that month
Marketplace
30%Sales through DiscoverCard fees included

Gumroad is the merchant of record for sales tax. Card fees are extra on direct sales.

Sellfy

Creator storefront

0%Within plan limit
2%Above the limit

You keep 100% before other fees

Plans
$39 to $159 a month
Sales limits
$10k to $200k a year
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢ in US
All rates and sources
All Sellfy rates
RateWhen
Sellfy fee
0%Within plan limit
2%Above the limitUntil you upgrade

You are the merchant of record, so you file and pay sales tax. Sellfy calculates it at checkout.

Etsy

Marketplace for shops

6.5%Transaction fee
3% + 25¢US card processing

You keep 93.5% before other fees

Listing
$0.20 each
Offsite Ads
12–15% per order
Local fee
Up to 1.97%, 9 countries
+ 3 more rates
All Etsy rates
RateWhen
Every sale
6.5%Transaction feeOn price and shipping
3%+ 25¢US card processingVaries by country
If a sale comes from Offsite Ads
15%Under $10k yearly salesMax $100 per order
12%$10k yearly sales and upMax $100 per order
Some countries
0.05–1.97%Regulatory operating fee

Listings last four months. Etsy collects VAT and US sales tax where the law requires it.

Whop

Digital products and access

No fee listedSeparate platform cut
2.7% + 30¢US cards
Start
$0 a month
Tax service
2% if you use it
ACH payout
$2.50
+ 5 more rates
All Whop rates
RateWhen
Payments
2.7%+ 30¢US cards
+ 1.5%International cards
+ 1%Currency conversion
1.5%ACH bank paymentsMax $5
Optional
2%Tax service
15%Financing partnerPer successful transaction

Whop lists payment and payout fees, but no separate platform cut.

5% + 50¢Direct sales
30%Marketplace sales

You keep 95% before other fees

Start
$0 a month
International
+ 1.5%
Subscriptions
+ 0.5%
+ 4 more rates
All Lemon Squeezy digital downloads rates
RateWhen
Sales
5%+ 50¢Direct salesCard fees and tax included
30%Marketplace salesReplaces the standard fee
Extra charges
+ 1.5%International and PayPal
+ 0.5%Subscriptions
+ 3%Affiliate sales
+ 5%Recovered carts

Lemon Squeezy collects sales tax and VAT. Bank payouts outside the US cost 1%.

5%Free plan
0%Pro plan

You keep 95% before other fees

Pro plan
$15 a month, yearly
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢ in US
Sales tax
Fourthwall handles it
All rates and sources
All Fourthwall digital products rates
RateWhen
Digital products
5%Free plan
0%Pro plan

Fourthwall is the merchant of record and handles sales tax.

Checked

Sources

Stan Store

Creator storefront

0%Transaction fee

You keep 100% before other fees

Plans
$29 or $99 a month
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢ in US
Payouts
0.25% + 25¢
+ 3 more rates
All Stan Store rates
RateWhen
Stan
0%Transaction fee
Stripe fees
2.9%+ 30¢US cards
+ 1.5%International cards
+ 0.5%Recurring payments

Stan charges a monthly plan, not a cut. Stripe or PayPal fees apply to each sale.

Pensight

Creator storefront

3%All sales

You keep 97% before other fees

Plans
$0, $29, or $99 a month
Card fees
Included
Sales tax
You handle it
All rates and sources
All Pensight rates
RateWhen
Pensight
3%All salesStripe processing included

The 3% is the only transaction fee. It covers Stripe processing, support, and hosting.

The Leap

Creator storefront

0%Platform commission

You keep 100% before other fees

Plans
$0, $19, or $59 a month
Stripe
2.9% per sale
Discovery
Creator directory
All rates and sources
All The Leap rates
RateWhen
The Leap
0%Platform commission

Tax handling in The Leap’s terms dates from 2024 and could not be confirmed.

PayLoadz

Digital delivery

0%Orders $2 and up
5¢Orders under $2

You keep 100% before other fees

Plan
$49 a month
Payments
Your PayPal
Sales tax
You handle it
All rates and sources
All PayLoadz rates
RateWhen
PayLoadz fee
0%Orders $2 and up
5¢Orders under $2

Buyers pay into your PayPal, so PayPal fees apply. Store listings are free.

DPD

Digital delivery

0%Product sales
69¢Per subscriber, after 5

You keep 100% before other fees

Plans
$10 to $30 a month
Payments
Your processor
Trial
30 days
All rates and sources
All DPD rates
RateWhen
DPD fee
0%Product sales
69¢Per subscriber, after 5Each month, in subscription stores

You set tax rules and DPD calculates them. You report and pay EU VAT yourself.

FetchApp

Digital delivery

0%Commission

You keep 100% before other fees

Plans
Free, $5, or from $10
Payments
Your store’s cart
Sales tax
Not stated
All rates and sources
All FetchApp rates
RateWhen
FetchApp
0%Commission

FetchApp delivers files for your existing store. Your cart’s fees still apply.

Pulley

Digital delivery

0%Commission

You keep 100% before other fees

Plans
$6 to $299 a month
Payments
PayPal
Trial
14 days
All rates and sources
All Pulley rates
RateWhen
Pulley
0%Commission

Pulley charges a flat monthly plan. PayPal fees apply to each sale.

Sell.app

Digital storefront

3%Standard plan
0%Advanced plan

You keep 97% before other fees

Advanced plan
$199.99 a month
Card fees
About 3.5%
Sales tax
Paddle option
All rates and sources
All Sell.app rates
RateWhen
Plans
3%Standard planFree
0%Advanced plan$199.99 a month

You can use Paddle checkout to have tax handled for you.

itch.io digital downloads

Games and creative work

10%Default share
0–100%Any share you set

You keep 90% before other fees

Start
Free
Card fees
About 2.9% + 30¢
Payouts setup
$3 once
All rates and sources
All itch.io digital downloads rates
RateWhen
itch.io share
10%Default share
0–100%Any share you set

You set itch.io’s share yourself. In Payouts mode, itch.io handles VAT.

Ko-fi Shop

Creator shop

5%Free plan
0%Gold plan

You keep 95% before other fees

Gold plan
$12 a month
Card fees
About 3% + 30¢
Sales tax
You handle it
All rates and sources
All Ko-fi Shop rates
RateWhen
Shop fee
5%Free plan
0%Gold planAfter opting out of the service fee

Payments go straight to you through PayPal or Stripe.

PayHere

Payment pages

1.5%Starter and Business

You keep 98.5% before other fees

Business plan
$149 a month
Card fees
Stripe rates, extra
Sales tax
You handle it
+ 1 more rate
All PayHere rates
RateWhen
PayHere
1.5%Starter and Business
Custom rateEnterprise

PayHere is a checkout tool, not a marketplace. Stripe fees are extra.