Platform fees

Compare PC game store fees: Steam, Epic and more

Compare the store cut and the upfront cost of publishing a PC game. Seller access and payment charges also matter when deciding where to release.

8 platforms

US / USD unless labelled

Last checked

Sources and dates

Steam

Checked

Platform cut
30% first $10M; 25% from $10M to $50M; 20% above $50M per game Source
Upfront cost
US$100 per app; recouped after US$1,000 adjusted gross revenue Source
Payment processing
No separate seller processing rate is listed. Monthly payout is USD by US ACH or international SWIFT; Valve adds no wire fee, but banks may charge. A US$100 minimum payout may apply. Source
Seller access
Valve reviews the store page and game build before release. Source

Epic Games Store

Checked

Platform cut
Developers keep 100% of the first $1M net per title/calendar year, then 88%; eligible First Run titles keep 100% for six months. Source
Upfront cost
$100 per product plus local taxes; recouped after $1,000 in Epic Store and Epic Payment Platform purchases. Source
Payment processing
Public terms list the platform share but do not state a separate seller processing rate. Source
Seller access
Developer Portal setup, product questionnaire, tax and payout details, and review are required. Source

GOG

Checked

Platform cut
Current GOG revenue share is not stated in public developer terms. Source
Upfront cost
No current submission or listing fee is stated in the public form or developer docs. Source
Payment processing
Public developer docs do not list seller processing or payout terms. Source
Seller access
Submit the game for review; accepted partners get Developer Portal access. Source

itch.io

Checked

Platform cut
Seller sets itch.io’s revenue share from 0% to 100%; the default is 10% Source
Upfront cost
Free account; itch.io Payouts requires tax identity and a one-time $3 verification fee Source
Payment processing
PayPal/Stripe typically charge 2.9% + $0.30; currency and payout fees vary Source
Seller access
Marketplace; Direct makes seller MoR, while itch.io Payouts makes itch.io MoR Source

Humble Store

Checked

Platform cut
Current Humble Store partner share is not stated in public terms. Source
Upfront cost
Current submission or listing costs are not stated publicly. Source
Payment processing
Current seller processing and payout terms are not stated publicly. Source
Seller access
A game submission form is available; current acceptance terms are not public. Source

Game Jolt

Checked

Platform cut
Creators receive a share of premium sticker-pack sales; the percentage is not stated publicly. Source
Upfront cost
No current seller account or listing fee schedule is stated publicly. Source
Payment processing
Premium Shop sales credit as Gems; 7-business-day hold, $20 withdrawal minimum, and monthly PayPal, wire, or ACH payout within the first 15 days. Processing fees are not listed publicly. Source
Seller access
Game distribution is supported; current paid-listing approval rules are not stated publicly. Source

GameHouse

Checked

Platform cut
Publisher revenue share is not listed publicly. Source
Upfront cost
No public submission or listing fee is stated. Source
Payment processing
Processing and payout terms are not listed publicly. Source
Seller access
Pitch a game through GameHouse's official publishing form. Source

Fanatical

Checked

Platform cut
Current partner revenue share is supplied privately, not listed publicly. Source
Upfront cost
Current partner or listing costs are not listed publicly. Source
Payment processing
Processing and payout terms are not listed publicly. Source
Seller access
Contact licensing with game details; Fanatical handles signup. Source
0%First $1M a year
12%Above $1M a year

You keep 100% before other fees

Start
$100 per game
Fee back
After $1,000 in sales
First Run
0% for 6 months
+ 1 more rate
All Epic Games Store rates
RateWhen
Per game, each year
0%First $1M a yearNet revenue
12%Above $1M a year
0%First Run titlesFor 6 months

The $1M limit resets each calendar year. First Run is a program for eligible new titles.

itch.io

Indie games

10%Default share
0–100%Any share you set

You keep 90% before other fees

Start
Free
Card fees
About 2.9% + 30¢
Payouts setup
$3 once
All rates and sources
All itch.io rates
RateWhen
itch.io share
10%Default share
0–100%Any share you set

You set itch.io’s share yourself. PayPal or Stripe fees are extra.

Humble Store

Curated PC games

Share not disclosedPartner share
Start
Not published
Payouts
Not published
Access
Submission form
Sources

Humble does not publish its current seller terms.

Checked

Sources

Game Jolt

Indie games and stickers

Share not disclosedSticker pack share
Paid as
Gems
Withdraw
$20 minimum
Payouts
Monthly
Sources

Game Jolt shares sticker pack sales but not the rate. Earnings are held for 7 business days.

GameHouse

Game publishing partner

Share not disclosedPublisher share
Start
No fee stated
Access
Pitch form
Payouts
Not published
Sources

GameHouse is a publisher and does not publish its revenue share.

Checked

Sources