Platform fees

Writing and books

Compare platforms for books, audiobooks, fiction and paid newsletters. Check royalties, distribution costs and subscription charges within each section.

47 platforms

US / USD unless labelled

Ebooks and print books

Last checked

Sources and dates

Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing

Checked

Formats
Ebooks, paperback, and hardcover Source
Author royalty
Ebooks: 35% or eligible 70%. Print: 50% or 60% of list price, less printing; Expanded paperback distribution pays 40% less printing. Source
Per-copy deductions
Eligible 70% ebook royalties deduct delivery costs; paperback and hardcover royalties deduct printing costs. Source
Publishing cost
No upload or title setup fee. Proof and author copies cost extra; optional services may also cost extra. Source
Key condition
On Amazon.com, 70% ebooks must be $2.99–$12.99 and meet territory rules. Brazil, India, Japan, and Mexico also require KDP Select, which makes ebook rights exclusive while enrolled. Source

Apple Books for Authors

Checked

Formats
Ebooks published directly to Apple Books Source
Author royalty
70% royalty on direct ebook sales at any list price. Source
Per-copy deductions
No file delivery fee. Source
Publishing cost
Apple charges no hidden fees. Listed bank thresholds vary; all other bank territories and currencies require more than US$40. Source
Key condition
No ebook price bands or exclusivity requirement. Source

Kobo Writing Life

Checked

Formats
Ebooks and audiobooks Source
Author royalty
Ebooks: 70% under qualifying IPP terms, 45% standard, 20% public domain. Audiobooks: 45% a la carte at floor, 35% below, 32% subscription token. Source
Per-copy deductions
Ebook royalty is based on list price excluding tax. Source
Publishing cost
Ebook distribution and ePub conversion are free; audiobook publishing costs are not specified in the public FAQ. Source
Key condition
Current FAQ lists a C$50 payout threshold. The service agreement, last updated in 2012, also lists price ceilings, price-matching rules, and withholding until $100; current applicability is unconfirmed. Source

Google Play Books Partner Center

Checked

Formats
Ebooks are non-exclusive and can also sell through other retailers; audiobook sales are available only to select partners. Source
Author royalty
Ebooks: 70% in 60+ eligible countries after updated terms; default split is 52%, while 11 countries retain their current split. Source
Per-copy deductions
Google charges no fee for the 70% ebook revenue split. Source
Publishing cost
No cost to sell ebooks on Google Play. Source
Key condition
The 70% ebook share has no price band; updated terms and eligible-country rules apply. Source

Barnes & Noble Press

Checked

Formats
Ebooks, paperback, and hardcover; no audiobook sales through B&N Press Source
Author royalty
Ebooks: 70% at $0.99+. Print: 55% of list price minus per-book printing cost. Source
Per-copy deductions
Print production cost is deducted from the 55% print royalty. Source
Publishing cost
No cost to use B&N Press. Source
Key condition
Non-exclusive. Print books sell on bn.com and the app, not in physical B&N stores. Source

Draft2Digital

Checked

Formats
Ebooks, audiobooks, and print-on-demand paperbacks Source
Author royalty
Ebooks and audiobooks: D2D takes 15% of store payments. Print: author gets 45% of list less unit cost. Smashwords.com pays 75% or 40% of list. Source
Per-copy deductions
Print unit cost is deducted; ebook and audio proceeds reflect store terms, taxes, and any surcharges. Source
Publishing cost
New accounts pay a $20 activation fee including year one. After that, the annual maintenance fee is $12 when titles are active and the waiver threshold is not met. Source
Key condition
No active titles waives the annual fee. For active titles, the FAQ says the $100 waiver threshold is book sales in the prior 12 months; the current agreement says it is royalties. Source

PublishDrive

Checked

Formats
Ebooks, print books, and audiobooks Source
Author royalty
Plans charge 0% distribution commission; publishers keep 100% of the store royalties received. Source
Per-copy deductions
Retailer share and print production costs still apply; payout transaction and conversion fees depend on payment method. Source
Publishing cost
Free: 1 ebook title / 3 ebook channels. Starter: 3 titles at $16.99/month or $13.99/month when billed yearly. Source
Key condition
New free signups after Feb. 24, 2026 get 3 ebook channels; print and audio require a paid plan. Source

StreetLib

Checked

Formats
Ebooks and audiobooks; print publishing is limited by region. Source
Author royalty
New international Subscription and Lifetime plans pay 85% of digital net revenue. Source
Per-copy deductions
Retail/VAT costs come first; print channels deduct 45–51%, StreetLib from 10%, and printing cost. Source
Publishing cost
New international plans: $99/year or $299 lifetime, up to 100 ebook/audio titles. Source
Key condition
New plans apply outside Italy/DACH from Mar. 17, 2026. Print service is unavailable in the US and Canada. Source

IngramSpark

Checked

Formats
Print books and ebooks Source
Author royalty
Ebooks earn 85% of net revenue received. Print compensation is list price less wholesale discount, printing, and market access fee. Source
Per-copy deductions
Print sales deduct production cost, publisher-set wholesale discount, and a 1.875% market access fee on local list price. Source
Publishing cost
No account or title setup fee. Source
Key condition
Optional print-to-ebook conversion costs $0.60 per page; print cost varies by book specifications. Source

Lulu

Checked

Formats
Print books and ebooks; Global Distribution sends eligible titles to retailer channels. Source
Author royalty
Print: 80% of gross profit. Ebooks: 90% of revenue after retailer fees and markups. Source
Per-copy deductions
For print, production and any distributor share are deducted before the 80/20 split. Lulu Bookstore print sales have no distribution fee. Source
Publishing cost
Publishing is free. First Global Distribution review costs $4.99 per new print book or ebook; revisions are not charged again. A print proof copy is also required. Source
Key condition
Global Distribution uses retailer-specific channels and rules; creators receive the channel-level revenue shown in Lulu pricing. Source

Blurb

Checked

Formats
Print books, magazines, journals, notebooks, and Instant PDFs. No new ebooks; existing titles remain for sale in the Blurb Bookstore and Apple Books. Source
Author royalty
Blurb Bookstore: creator keeps 100% of chosen markup after base print cost. External channels deduct their channel costs and discounts first. Source
Per-copy deductions
Printing is deducted from Bookstore sales. External retailer base prices include distributor charges, shipping, and retailer discounts. Source
Publishing cost
No Bookstore listing fee. External channel program fees, if any, appear at checkout. Source
Key condition
Monthly payouts. USD PayPal threshold $25 with $1 fee; USD check threshold $25 with $5 fee. Other currencies differ. Source

BookBaby

Checked

Formats
Ebooks, print-on-demand books, and global retailer distribution. Source
Author royalty
eBook retailers: author receives 100% of net wholesale receipts after retailer fees. BookShop eBook direct sales: BookBaby retains 15%, so author receives 85% of sale price. Source
Per-copy deductions
Print BookShop sales pay 50% of retail. Amazon POD royalties are 10–15% of retail, depending on title and specifications. Source
Publishing cost
Global ebook distribution is $299. Print POD packages are $199 for BookShop or $399 for BookShop plus Amazon POD. Source
Key condition
The online distribution agreement grants exclusive distribution representation while active, except for author direct sales; either party may terminate with 24 hours’ notice. Copyright stays with the author. Source

XinXii

Checked

Formats
The 2021 Apple listing describes ebook and audiobook distribution; current service status is unverified. Source
Author royalty
Current author royalty terms could not be verified from accessible official pages. Source
Per-copy deductions
Current per-copy deductions could not be verified from accessible official pages. Source
Publishing cost
Current distribution fees could not be verified from accessible official pages. Source
Key condition
Current exclusivity, payout, and rights terms could not be verified from accessible official pages. Source

Bookvault

Checked

Formats
Print-on-demand books sold through connected stores, the Great British Bookshop, and retailer distribution. Source
Author royalty
Direct sales have no Bookvault commission; retailer earnings equal retail price less retailer discount and print cost. Source
Per-copy deductions
Direct orders incur production and shipping costs. Retailer orders deduct their trade discount and then print cost. Source
Publishing cost
Free plan: £19.95 per title setup. Indie: £24.95/month plus £4.95 per title. Pro: £89.95/month with no title setup fee. Source
Key condition
For connected-store orders, customers pay the author’s store; Bookvault bills the author for production and shipping. Retailer distribution does not require print prepayment. Source

Notion Press

Checked

Formats
Paperback, hardcover, and ebooks; India and international distribution plans are available. Source
Author royalty
Basic Distribution: 60% of net profit. India/Global: 80%. Outpublish: 100% of net profit. Costs are deducted first. Source
Per-copy deductions
Printing, retailer distribution, shipping, taxes, technology fees, and returns may be deducted before the author share. Source
Publishing cost
Publishing services are paid packages; price depends on the selected plan, format, and services. Source
Key condition
Payout threshold: ₹1,500 domestic or ₹10,000 international. Monthly earnings enter the wallet within 40 days of month-end; bank deposit takes 3 days. Source

Pothi

Checked

Formats
Print books and ebooks. Current ebook sales are through Pothi.com; extended distribution applies to print books. Source
Author royalty
Ebooks: 75% of MRP on Pothi; 25% for other stores, though Pothi does not currently sell ebooks there. Source
Per-copy deductions
Print: 50% of Pothi-store profit; 80% of profit after partner costs. Free-shipping domestic orders use the partner-distribution rate. Source
Publishing cost
Publishing is free with ready files. Extended print distribution starts with a ₹1,500 setup fee; annual renewal and bulk-print charges depend on plan. Source
Key condition
Standard distribution’s ₹1,000 annual renewal is currently waived; Premium plans require yearly renewal and upfront purchase of 200 or 600 copies. Source

Compare author royalties for ebooks and print books separately. Printing costs, delivery charges and other per-copy deductions change what you receive from the listed royalty.

Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing

Ebooks and print books

30%Eligible ebooks
65%Standard ebooks

You keep 70% before other fees

Start
Free
70% ebooks
$2.99 to $12.99
Print
Printing cost taken
+ 3 more rates
All Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing rates
RateWhen
Ebooks
30%Eligible ebooksYou keep 70%, less delivery
65%Standard ebooksYou keep 35%
Print
50%US print under $9.99You keep 50%, less printing
40%US print $9.99 and upYou keep 60%, less printing
60%Expanded DistributionYou keep 40%, less printing

US prices shown. Some countries need KDP Select, which makes the ebook exclusive to Amazon.

Kobo Writing Life

Ebooks and audiobooks

30%Qualifying ebooks
55%Standard ebooks

You keep 70% before other fees

Start
Free
Charged on
Price before tax
Minimum payout
C$50
+ 4 more rates
All Kobo Writing Life rates
RateWhen
Ebooks
30%Qualifying ebooksYou keep 70%
55%Standard ebooksYou keep 45%
80%Public domainYou keep 20%
Audiobooks
55%At or above floor priceYou keep 45%
65%Below floor priceYou keep 35%
68%Subscription tokenYou keep 32%

Kobo’s service agreement dates from 2012, so some of its rules may be out of date.

Checked

Sources

30%Eligible countries
48%Default split

You keep 70% before other fees

Start
Free
Price limits
None
Exclusive
No
All rates and sources
All Google Play Books Partner Center rates
RateWhen
Ebooks
30%Eligible countriesYou keep 70%, after new terms
48%Default splitYou keep 52%

The 70% share needs the updated terms and applies in over 60 countries.

Checked

Sources

Barnes & Noble Press

Ebooks and print books

30%Ebooks, $0.99 and up
45%Print

You keep 70% before other fees

Start
Free
Print cost
Taken from your share
Exclusive
No
All rates and sources
All Barnes & Noble Press rates
RateWhen
B&N Press
30%Ebooks, $0.99 and upYou keep 70%
45%PrintYou keep 55%, less printing

Print books sell on bn.com and the app, not in B&N stores.

Draft2Digital

Book distribution

15%Ebooks and audiobooks
55%Print

You keep 85% before other fees

Start
$20, covers year one
Yearly fee
$12 after year one
Formats
Ebook, audio, print
+ 1 more rate
All Draft2Digital rates
RateWhen
Draft2Digital
15%Ebooks and audiobooksOf what stores pay
55%PrintYou keep 45%, less printing
Smashwords store
25%Direct salesYou keep 75% or 40%

The yearly fee is waived above $100 in 12 months. The FAQ and agreement differ on how that is counted.

PublishDrive

Book distribution

0%Distribution commission

You keep 100% before other fees

Starter
$13.99 a month, yearly
Free plan
1 ebook
Store fees
Still apply
All rates and sources
All PublishDrive rates
RateWhen
PublishDrive
0%Distribution commissionYou keep 100% of store royalties

Print and audio need a paid plan.

StreetLib

Book distribution

15%Digital net revenue

You keep 85% before other fees

Plans
$99 a year or $299 once
Titles
Up to 100
Print
Not in US or Canada
All rates and sources
All StreetLib rates
RateWhen
StreetLib
15%Digital net revenueYou keep 85%

These plans apply outside Italy and German-speaking countries from March 2026.

IngramSpark

Print and ebook distribution

15%Ebook net revenue

You keep 85% before other fees

Start
Free
Print fee
1.875% of list price
Conversion
60¢ a page
+ 1 more rate
All IngramSpark rates
RateWhen
Ebooks
15%Ebook net revenueYou keep 85%
Print
1.875%Market access feePlus your discount and printing

Print pay is list price minus your wholesale discount, printing, and the market access fee.

Lulu

Print books and ebooks

20%Print profit
10%Ebooks

You keep 80% before other fees

Start
Free
Distribution
$4.99 review per book
Lulu store
No distribution fee
All rates and sources
All Lulu rates
RateWhen
Lulu
20%Print profitYou keep 80% after printing
10%EbooksYou keep 90% after store fees

Retail channels take their share before Lulu’s split.

Blurb

Print on demand

0%Your markup

You keep 100% before other fees

Listing
Free
Ebooks
No new ones
PayPal payout
$1 fee
All rates and sources
All Blurb rates
RateWhen
Blurb Bookstore
0%Your markupYou keep 100% above print cost

Other stores take their costs and discounts first.

BookBaby

Ebooks and print

0%Ebook stores
15%Direct ebook sales

You keep 100% before other fees

Ebooks
$299 to distribute
Print
$199 or $399
Exclusive
While active
+ 2 more rates
All BookBaby rates
RateWhen
Ebooks
0%Ebook storesYou keep 100% of net
15%Direct ebook salesYou keep 85%
Print
50%BookShop printYou keep 50% of retail
85–90%Amazon print on demandYou keep 10–15% of retail

BookBaby represents your book exclusively while the deal is active. Either side can end it with 24 hours’ notice.

XinXii

Ebooks and audiobooks

Royalty unconfirmedOfficial terms inaccessible
Site
Returned an error
FAQ
Could not load
Last listing
App, 2021
Sources

XinXii’s official pages could not be reached, so current terms are unknown.

Bookvault

Print on demand

0%Direct sales

You keep 100% before other fees

Free plan
£19.95 per title
Indie plan
£24.95 a month
Retail pay
Price minus discount
All rates and sources
All Bookvault rates
RateWhen
Bookvault
0%Direct salesYou pay printing and shipping

For retail sales you get the price minus the retailer’s discount and print cost.

Notion Press

Publishing services, India

40%Basic plan
0%Outpublish

You keep 60% before other fees

Packages
Paid, by plan
Minimum payout
₹1,500 in India
Payouts
Monthly
+ 1 more rate
All Notion Press rates
RateWhen
Share of net profit
40%Basic planYou keep 60%
20%India and GlobalYou keep 80%
0%OutpublishYou keep 100%

Printing, shipping, store fees, taxes, and returns come off before your share.

Pothi

Print books and ebooks, India

25%Ebooks on Pothi
50%Print, Pothi store

You keep 75% before other fees

Start
Free
Print stores
₹1,500 setup
Ebooks
Pothi store only
+ 1 more rate
All Pothi rates
RateWhen
Ebooks
25%Ebooks on PothiYou keep 75% of MRP
Print
50%Print, Pothi storeOf profit
20%Print, partner storesYou keep 80% of profit

Premium print plans need an upfront order of 200 or 600 copies.

Audiobooks

Last checked

Sources and dates

ACX

Checked

Distribution
ACX distributes to Audible, Amazon, and Apple Books. Source
Author share
New model: 50% exclusive and 30% non-exclusive for a-la-carte and membership earnings. Source
Publishing cost
Production can be paid upfront, shared as royalties, or combined as royalty share plus. Source
Exclusivity
Legacy titles remain at 40% exclusive / 25% non-exclusive until year-end 2026; all titles must then use the new model. Source
Production payment
Pay-for-production charges an agreed per-finished-hour fee; royalty share splits the applicable share with the producer. Source

Spotify for Authors

Checked

Distribution
Spotify direct audiobook distribution includes a-la-carte purchases and Premium subscription listening. Source
Author share
A-la-carte pays 50% of suggested retail price. Subscription listening pays a pro-rata share of a Spotify-defined revenue pool based on consumption. Source
Publishing cost
Uploading finished audiobook files is free and unlimited. Source
Exclusivity
Distribution is non-exclusive; authors retain ownership and may publish elsewhere. Source
Production payment
Spotify digital narration is free for up to five English-language audiobooks for self-published US authors. A validated payment profile is required; additional titles require contacting support. Authors can distribute elsewhere. Source

Kobo Writing Life audiobooks

Checked

Distribution
Direct audiobook distribution through the Kobo store, a-la-carte sales, and token-based subscriptions. Source
Author share
45% of list price at or above US $2.99; 35% below. Paid tokens pay 32%; free-trial tokens pay 0%. Source
Publishing cost
Official audiobook upload and royalty pages list no separate upload or distribution fee. Source
Exclusivity
Kobo does not require audio exclusivity; authors may use other platforms. Source
Production payment
Direct audiobook upload is being rolled out gradually; authors may need to request access from Kobo. Source

Voices by INaudio (formerly Findaway Voices)

Checked

Distribution
Global retail, subscription, library, and K-12 channels. Source
Author share
Authors keep 80% of royalties INaudio receives from partners. Partner payout bases: 40 to 50% of list price for a-la-carte sales, 30 to 40% for subscriptions, and 25 to 45% of revenue-share receipts. Source
Publishing cost
No separate setup or distribution fee is listed publicly; the published model keeps 20% of partner royalties. Source
Exclusivity
No exclusivity agreement; authors choose their sales channels. Source
Production payment
Official pages cover distribution of finished audio and list no production service or price. Source

PublishDrive audiobooks

Checked

Distribution
Global audiobook store distribution; library and subscription channels vary by plan. Source
Author share
Subscription plans pay the full store royalty; PublishDrive takes no commission. Source
Publishing cost
Free plan covers one ebook only. Audiobook distribution starts with Starter at $16.99 monthly or $13.99 per month billed yearly, for up to three titles. Source
Exclusivity
Distribution is non-exclusive; creators can publish through other services. Source
Production payment
Finished audio is accepted. Apple digital narration is free for eligible ebooks distributed to Apple Books. Source

StreetLib audiobooks

Checked

Distribution
Distribution to global retailers, subscription services, and libraries. Source
Author share
Subscription and Lifetime plans advertise an 85% share of net revenue; retailer and sales-model payouts vary. Source
Publishing cost
Current pricing lists $99 per year or $299 once. A 2025 terms update charges EUR 0.20 per free audiobook download; older legal pages also describe a no-fixed-cost revenue-share path. Source
Exclusivity
StreetLib is non-exclusive; authors choose and can change distribution channels. Source
Production payment
Upload finished chapter MP3 files; public audio production prices are not listed. Source

Author's Republic

Checked

Distribution
Global retail, library, and music-streaming distribution. Source
Author share
Authors receive 80% of earned royalties Author’s Republic collects from partners, not 80% of list price. Source
Publishing cost
Completed audiobook distribution has no listing, submission, review, or referral fee. Source
Exclusivity
No exclusivity contract; authors select distribution channels. Source
Production payment
Official page conflicts: cost section says $50–$400/PFH ($300–$2,500+ for six hours); its FAQ says $150–$400/PFH ($900–$2,500). Source

Lantern Audio

Checked

Distribution
Global audiobook retail and library distribution. Source
Author share
Authors receive 75% of cash Lantern receives; the amount varies by retail channel. Source
Publishing cost
One-time $199 setup fee for audiobook distribution. Source
Exclusivity
Distribution is optional and non-exclusive. Source
Production payment
Audio preparation and production services cost extra at a quoted fee. Quarterly payments start after $50 accrues. Source

BookBaby audiobooks

Checked

Distribution
BookBaby Bookshop sells author-supplied audiobooks; Audible availability requires a separate sales discussion. Source
Author share
BookBaby advertises 75% per Bookshop audiobook sale; Audible is available by request, but its rate is not public. Source
Publishing cost
Existing finished-audio upload costs $99. Author narration is $500 plus $0.14 per word; actor narration is $500 plus $0.16 per word; AI voice cloning is $2,000 plus $0.06 per word. Source
Exclusivity
The currently posted 2022 distribution agreement grants exclusive rights for selected services, except author direct sales; either side may terminate on 24 hours notice. Source
Production payment
BookBaby offers author, voice-actor, and AI voice-clone production; price depends on the chosen option and manuscript length. Source

Compare author shares and distribution options for audiobooks. Check exclusivity and production payments alongside any publishing costs.

ACX

Audible audiobooks

50%Exclusive
70%Non-exclusive

You keep 50% before other fees

Production
Paid or royalty share
Old rates
End Dec 2026
Stores
Audible, Amazon, Apple
+ 2 more rates
All ACX rates
RateWhen
New model
50%ExclusiveYou keep 50%
70%Non-exclusiveYou keep 30%
Old model, until end of 2026
60%ExclusiveYou keep 40%
75%Non-exclusiveYou keep 25%

With royalty share, you split your share with the narrator.

Checked

Sources

Spotify for Authors

Audiobooks on Spotify

50%Single purchases
Shared revenue poolPremium listening

You keep 50% before other fees

Start
Free
Exclusive
No
AI narration
Free, US English
All rates and sources
All Spotify for Authors rates
RateWhen
Spotify
50%Single purchasesYou keep 50% of list price
Shared revenue poolPremium listeningPaid by listening time

Digital narration is free for up to five English-language audiobooks for US authors. A validated payment profile is required.

55%$2.99 and up
68%Paid tokens

You keep 45% before other fees

Start
No fee stated
Exclusive
No
Access
Rolling out
+ 2 more rates
All Kobo Writing Life audiobooks rates
RateWhen
Kobo
55%$2.99 and upYou keep 45%
65%Under $2.99You keep 35%
68%Paid tokensYou keep 32%
100%Free-trial tokensYou keep 0%

Direct audiobook upload is rolling out. You may need to ask Kobo for access.

Author's Republic

Audiobook distribution

20%Collected royalties

You keep 80% before other fees

Start
Free
Exclusive
No
Production
Quoted per hour
All rates and sources
All Author's Republic rates
RateWhen
Author’s Republic
20%Collected royaltiesYou keep 80%

You get 80% of what stores pay Author’s Republic, not 80% of the list price.

Lantern Audio

Audiobook distribution

25%Cash received

You keep 75% before other fees

Setup
$199 once
Exclusive
No
Payouts
Quarterly, from $50
All rates and sources
All Lantern Audio rates
RateWhen
Lantern
25%Cash receivedYou keep 75%

Audio preparation and production cost extra.

Checked

Sources

Comics and serialized fiction

Last checked

Sources and dates

WEBTOON CANVAS

Checked

Earnings model
Creators can earn from ads and Super Likes; Patreon integration is also available. Source
Creator share
Ads pay 50% of net ad revenue. Super Likes pay 70% of net after a standard 30% deduction from gross, excluding taxes, refunds and chargebacks. This gives 49% of gross (51% total deductions); WEBTOON may reduce the initial deduction. Source
Required cost
CANVAS is open to creators; no publishing charge is listed. Source
Seller access
Viewer ads: 40,000+ views and 1,000+ subscribers per Creators 101; January 2026 Terms require over both. Super Likes: 500+ likes and age 18+. Source
Exclusivity
Creators retain their work and grant WEBTOON a non-exclusive license to operate and promote CANVAS. Source

Tapas

Checked

Earnings model
Creators can earn from ads and reader Ink support; merch shop applications are currently closed. Source
Creator share
About 70% of ad revenue goes to creators. Tapas takes no support cut; Ink support leaves 85% on web or 70% in apps after third-party fees. Source
Required cost
Tapas offers free self-publishing for comics and written stories. Source
Seller access
Ads require age 18+ and 100 subscribers. Support requires 250 subscribers and staff approval. Source
Exclusivity
Creators retain ownership and grant Tapas an ongoing non-exclusive license to publish their work. Source

GlobalComix

Checked

Earnings model
Monetize paid comic access and PDF sales, plus reader donations. Source
Creator share
Free plan: 65% content and 92% donations. Professional plan: 70% content and 95% donations. Source
Required cost
Free plan costs $0. Professional costs $19.99 per month; custom pricing requires contacting sales. Source
Seller access
Open to creators and publishers who own or hold publishing rights to their comics. Source
Exclusivity
Creators retain rights and grant GlobalComix a non-exclusive license to display and promote uploaded work. Source

Wattpad Originals

Checked

Earnings model
Selected CANVAS creators may join Originals under formal agreements and share revenue from paid access. Source
Creator share
The exact creator revenue-share percentage is not stated in public Originals disclosures. Source
Required cost
Public Originals disclosures do not list a separate creator-side fee schedule. Source
Seller access
Selected CANVAS creators may be offered formal agreements; detailed eligibility and pitch criteria are not public. Source
Exclusivity
Wattpad-specific rights are contractual and not public; parent-company filings say some creator deals include exclusivity. Source

Inkitt and Galatea

Checked

Earnings model
Inkitt reader subscriptions; selected Galatea publishing deals. Source
Creator share
Authors keep 100% of Inkitt subscription earnings after payment processing. Source
Required cost
No Inkitt platform cut; payment processing fees apply. Source
Seller access
Authors can join the subscription program without application review. Source
Exclusivity
Inkitt subscriptions are non-exclusive; Galatea deal terms vary. Source

Webnovel

Checked

Earnings model
Premium chapters, reader gifts, and contract bonuses. Source
Creator share
The author revenue share is set by contract; no standard percentage is published. Source
Required cost
No public author fee schedule was found. Source
Seller access
Apply for a contract after 12,000 words; editors review the application. Source
Exclusivity
Signed works are exclusive and cannot be published or contracted elsewhere. Source

Ream

Checked

Earnings model
Reader memberships and direct ebook sales. Source
Creator share
Authors keep 90% before payment processing. Source
Required cost
Free to start; 10% platform fee plus typical processing of 2.9% + $0.30. Source
Seller access
Authors set membership prices and benefits. Source
Exclusivity
No exclusivity; authors can publish their work on other platforms. Source

GoodNovel

Checked

Earnings model
Paid chapter unlocks and contract rewards. Source
Creator share
Current share percentage is not listed on the 2026 rewards page. A 2020 guide says 50% profit share for contracts, with a 120k-word condition for non-exclusive books; current non-exclusive rewards use a 150k threshold. Source
Required cost
No public author fee schedule was found. Source
Seller access
Authors can apply after uploading more than 5,000 words. Source
Exclusivity
The 2026 page offers exclusive and non-exclusive contracts; an older guide says non-exclusive books may appear elsewhere only as paid reads. Source

Dreame / Stary Writing

Checked

Earnings model
Pay-to-read income plus writing bonuses. Source
Creator share
The public pages describe royalties and bonuses but do not list the base royalty percentage. Source
Required cost
No public author fee schedule was found. Source
Seller access
Stories can publish from 200 words; authors can apply for a contract at 5,000 words. Source
Exclusivity
An exclusive contract is required for Stary’s Basic Bonus; other deal terms vary. Source

Pocket FM

Checked

Earnings model
Audio series, coin earnings, and the Writers Benefit Program (WBP). Source
Creator share
WBP earnings terms are handled by contract; no standard share is publicly listed. Source
Required cost
No public writer fee schedule was found in the Sherpa FAQ or service terms. Source
Seller access
Writers need an invitation to sign a WBP contract and earn through the program. Source
Exclusivity
General service terms grant Pocket FM a non-exclusive license to user submissions. Source

Kakuyomu

Checked

Earnings model
Ad revenue sharing and reader gifts. Source
Creator share
Authors receive about 70% of ad sales; individual rewards depend on ad score. Source
Required cost
Free to join; cash-out transfer fees apply. Source
Seller access
Writers abroad may join; cashing out needs a Japanese bank account. Source
Exclusivity
Authors retain copyright and grant Kakuyomu a free, non-exclusive license to publish, distribute, copy, and promote their work. Source

Compare reader payments, memberships and platform earnings programs for comics and fiction. Seller access and exclusivity can determine which earning options are available.

50%Ad revenue
Up to 51%Super Likes, total fees

You keep 50% before other fees

Start
Free
Ads need
40,000 views
Exclusive
No
All rates and sources
All WEBTOON CANVAS rates
RateWhen
WEBTOON CANVAS
50%Ad revenueYou keep 50% of net
Up to 51%Super Likes30% first, then 30% of the remainder

Super Likes pay 70% after an initial deduction of up to 30%. Ads also need over 1,000 subscribers; Super Likes need 500 likes and age 18+.

Tapas

Comics and stories

30%Ads, about
0%Reader support

You keep 70% before other fees

Start
Free
Ads need
100 subscribers
Exclusive
No
All rates and sources
All Tapas rates
RateWhen
Tapas
30%Ads, aboutYou keep about 70%
0%Reader supportPayment fees: 15% web, 30% apps

Reader support needs 250 subscribers and staff approval.

Webnovel

Serial fiction

Set by agreementWriter revenue share
Apply at
12,000 words
Exclusive
Yes, when signed
Earn from
Premium chapters
Sources

Your share is set in your contract. Webnovel does not publish a standard rate.

Ream

Reader memberships

10%Platform fee

You keep 90% before other fees

Start
Free
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢
Exclusive
No
All rates and sources
All Ream rates
RateWhen
Ream
10%Platform feeYou keep 90% before card fees

You set your own membership prices and perks.

Checked

Sources

Pocket FM

Audio fiction

Set by agreementWriter Benefit Program
Access
By invitation
Program
Writers Benefit
Exclusive
No
Sources

Pocket FM pays writers under invite-only contracts.

Checked

Sources

Kakuyomu

Japanese web fiction

30%Ad revenue

You keep 70% before other fees

Start
Free
Cash out
Japanese bank needed
Exclusive
No
All rates and sources
All Kakuyomu rates
RateWhen
Kakuyomu
30%Ad revenueAuthors share about 70%

Each author’s ad reward depends on an ad score. Reader gifts pay separately.

Newsletters and paid writing

Last checked

Sources and dates

Substack

Checked

Earnings model
Paid newsletter subscriptions Source
Plan cost
Free to publish; optional custom domain is $50 once. Source
Platform fee or writer share
Substack takes 10% of each paid subscription transaction Source
Payment processing
US cards: 2.9% + $0.30 per charge; Stripe Billing adds 0.7% to recurring payments Source
Price control
Writers set monthly and yearly prices; app-store and non-card payment costs vary Source

beehiiv

Checked

Earnings model
Paid subscriptions and ad network Source
Plan cost
Launch is free through 2,500 subscribers; Scale starts at $43/month billed annually at a selected tier, with up to 100,000 subscribers shared across workspace publications. Enterprise is custom above 100,000. Source
Platform fee or writer share
0% beehiiv fee on paid subscriptions; the feature starts on Scale Source
Payment processing
US Stripe card fee: 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction; other Stripe rates vary Source
Price control
Creators set subscription tiers, prices, currencies, benefits, and billing options Source

Ghost

Checked

Earnings model
Paid publication memberships using Stripe Source
Plan cost
At 1,000 members, Publisher is $29/month billed annually. The comparison table lists Starter/Publisher at 1,000, Business at 10,000, Custom unlimited; the overview conflicts on Business. Source
Platform fee or writer share
Ghost charges 0% on paid memberships Source
Payment processing
US Stripe domestic cards: 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction; other card rates vary Source
Price control
Creators set monthly and yearly prices; Publisher supports three paid tiers Source

Kit

Checked

Earnings model
Paid newsletters, subscriptions, and digital products Source
Plan cost
Free supports paid newsletters and up to 10,000 subscribers; Creator is $33/month at the 1,000-subscriber tier Source
Platform fee or writer share
Kit charges a 0.6% platform fee on paid-newsletter transactions Source
Payment processing
US total charge is 3.5% + $0.30 per sale, including card processing; currency rates vary Source
Price control
Creators set monthly, annual, or custom prices and can offer multiple subscription tiers Source

Buttondown

Checked

Earnings model
Paid newsletter subscriptions Source
Plan cost
Newsletter is free for the first 100 subscribers; paid subscriptions are a $9/month add-on Source
Platform fee or writer share
Buttondown takes 0% of subscription revenue; the paid-subscription add-on is billed monthly Source
Payment processing
US Stripe domestic cards: 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction; other card rates vary Source
Price control
Fixed subscriptions can be monthly/yearly; pay-what-you-want is a one-time amount; per-email billing charges for each send. Source

Medium Partner Program

Checked

Earnings model
Eligible paywalled stories earn from member reading/listening time, engagement, and Boosts Source
Plan cost
Active Medium membership required: US Member $5/month or $50/year; Friend $15/month or $150/year. Source
Platform fee or writer share
No fixed per-story rate; earnings vary with member activity and the story’s engagement Source
Payment processing
Stripe payout minimum $10; payouts usually start by the 10th and take 5–7 business days. Verified tax details and supported bank country required. Source
Price control
Not applicable: readers buy a Medium-wide membership; writers do not set its price Source

Vocal

Checked

Earnings model
Read earnings and creator subscriptions require Vocal+; tips and leaderboard bonuses are open to all creators Source
Plan cost
Free is $0; Vocal+ costs $9.99/month or $99/year before tax Source
Platform fee or writer share
Vocal+ read earnings use a variable CPM; the current rate is listed on the Vocal+ membership page Source
Payment processing
Vocal transfer fee: 7% Free or 2.9% Vocal+; Stripe processing varies by method/country. Minimum payout $35/$20; approved withdrawals reach Stripe within 5 business days. Source
Price control
Vocal sets Creator Subscription prices and terms; tips are offered in fixed amounts Source

Paragraph

Checked

Earnings model
Current product docs describe a site, newsletter and subscriber list, not paid memberships. Terms allow publisher transactions, but current paid-feature availability is unclear. Source
Plan cost
Free: $0/2,000 subscribers; Starter: $20 monthly or $16 monthly billed annually/10,000; Growth: $100/$80/100,000; Scale: $200/$160/250,000; Enterprise custom. Source
Platform fee or writer share
Current public terms do not list a creator revenue-share percentage. Source
Payment processing
Current terms do not name a processor for publisher offers; a 2023 guide mentions Stripe. Source
Price control
Current terms do not list membership billing intervals; a 2023 guide describes monthly and yearly tiers. Source

note

Checked

Earnings model
Paid articles, magazines, memberships, and tips Source
Plan cost
Memberships are free to run; subscription magazines require note Premium at ¥500/month Source
Platform fee or writer share
10% for articles, magazines, tips, and memberships; 20% for subscription magazines, after payment fees Source
Payment processing
Payment-method fee is deducted from creator sales before note’s platform fee; cards 5%, carrier 15%, PayPay/Amazon Pay 7%, points 10%, PayPal 6.5%. Payout fee ¥270. Source
Price control
Creators set content and membership prices; standard range ¥100–¥50,000, with higher limits for Premium/Pro Source

WordPress.com paid content

Checked

Earnings model
Paid newsletters, memberships, and gated content Source
Plan cost
Paid newsletters are available on the Free plan; other Payments blocks require Premium or higher. Paid plans start at $4/month billed annually Source
Platform fee or writer share
Platform fee by plan: Free 10%, Personal 8%, Premium 4%, Business 2%, Commerce 0% Source
Payment processing
US Stripe domestic cards: 2.9% + $0.30 per payment; other Stripe rates vary by region and method Source
Price control
Creators set monthly, yearly, one-time, or pay-what-you-want payment plans Source

Write.as

Checked

Earnings model
Current pricing lists Web Monetization on Free, Pro, and Team plans. Source
Plan cost
Free plan is $0 but registration is closed; Pro starts at $6/month billed annually or $9 month-to-month. Source
Platform fee or writer share
Current public pricing does not state a creator/platform share for micropayments. Source
Payment processing
Public pages do not identify a current wallet/provider or payout fees. Source
Price control
A 2023 staff reply said Web Monetization/Uphold would continue after Coil wound down, with further details pending. Source

Compare newsletter subscription fees with fixed publishing plans and writer earnings programs. Check payment processing and who sets the subscription price.

Substack

Paid newsletters

10%Paid subscriptions

You keep 90% before other fees

Start
Free
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢
Stripe Billing
+ 0.7%
All rates and sources
All Substack rates
RateWhen
Substack
10%Paid subscriptions

A custom domain costs $50 once.

Checked

Sources

beehiiv

Newsletters

0%Paid subscriptions

You keep 100% before other fees

Paid subs need
Scale plan
Scale
From $43 a month
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢ Stripe
All rates and sources
All beehiiv rates
RateWhen
beehiiv
0%Paid subscriptions

The free Launch plan covers up to 2,500 subscribers.

Ghost

Publications and newsletters

0%Paid memberships

You keep 100% before other fees

Publisher
$29 a month, yearly
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢ Stripe
Paid tiers
3 on Publisher
All rates and sources
All Ghost rates
RateWhen
Ghost
0%Paid memberships

Ghost prices its plans by the number of members.

Kit

Email and paid newsletters

0.6%Platform fee

You keep 99.4% before other fees

Free plan
Up to 10,000 subs
Total fee
3.5% + 30¢
Creator plan
$33 a month
All rates and sources
All Kit rates
RateWhen
Kit
0.6%Platform feeInside the 3.5% + 30¢ total

Kit’s 3.5% + 30¢ total already includes card processing.

Buttondown

Newsletters

0%Subscription revenue

You keep 100% before other fees

Paid add-on
$9 a month
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢ Stripe
Free plan
100 subscribers
All rates and sources
All Buttondown rates
RateWhen
Buttondown
0%Subscription revenue

You can charge monthly, yearly, per email, or pay what you want.

Vocal

Writing platform

Pay per 1,000 readsVocal+ rate varies
Vocal+
$9.99 a month
Transfer fee
2.9% on Vocal+
Minimum payout
$20 on Vocal+
Sources

Read earnings need Vocal+. Free members pay a 7% transfer fee.

note

Paid writing, Japan

10%Articles and memberships
20%Subscription magazines

You keep 90% before other fees

Premium
¥500 a month
Card fee
5% first
Payout fee
¥270
All rates and sources
All note rates
RateWhen
note
10%Articles and memberships
20%Subscription magazines

Payment method fees come off first, from 5% for cards to 15% for carrier billing.

Checked

Sources

WordPress.com paid content

Paid posts and newsletters

10%Free plan
0%Commerce plan

You keep 90% before other fees

Plans
From $4 a month
Card fees
2.9% + 30¢ Stripe
Payment types
Monthly to one-time
+ 3 more rates
All WordPress.com paid content rates
RateWhen
By plan
10%Free plan
8%Personal
4%Premium
2%Business
0%Commerce plan

Paid newsletters work on the free plan. Other payment blocks need Premium or higher.